Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious as is. Have made this recipe multiple times and it always comes out perfect. The only changes I (sometimes) make is to add a few drops of yellow food colouring to the filling for a brighter colour, and adding a pinch of cream of tartar to the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Turned out perfectly and was a really pretty pie, but it did not taste homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made this for a family dinner. My dad loves his tart, so I added extra lemon zest. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and both times it was a flop. The filling did not set.. The egg whites never from peaks. For me this recipe SUCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tafarnia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this pie on the eve of our Thanksgiving about 3 weeks ago. I did everything to the letter and gingerly slid my meringue topped delight into the oven and 5 minutes later the power went out. About 2 hours later the electricity was restored and the pie was still great! Thank you Emilie and GMa for a foolproof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Never made a homemade lemon meringue pie from scratch and was anxious about being able to get it right. I followed the directions to the letter and it turned out great! My boyfriend is very picky about pies and he loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My first attempt at lemon meringue. I read the review from CARTHECOOK, and skipped the zest. Like some of the other reviewers I increased the lemons to three. I made Emeril's Basic Pie Crust and baked two crusts for about 15 minutes. I doubled the recipe but whisked in more than 1/2 cup ( 1 cup doubled) of the hot sugar mixture. I put the meringue on top of the custard while it was still warm. I cooled the pie on the counter over an hour, but got over zealous and cut into one of the pies, before it was chilled. It was delicious but began to ooze. I then placed both pies into the refrig uncovered, after watching the related video, for the recommended three hours..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I took this recipe for my very first lemon meringue pie, changed all of the ingredients to 12 servings from 8 as it is shown, and it turned out to be really good! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
too much liquid to set properly....per my experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Tried 4 times. Kept getting watery pie:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States