Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I ALOS ADDED I JUICE OF A LIME! IT ADDED JUST ENOUGH AOF A HINT OF LIIME AND MADE THE PIE INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Once you've made your crust, this is a great simple recipe. My only improvement is to add some lemon juice to the meringue. I like the flour and starch combo, make it very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I did use a little cream of tar tar in the meringue, I also used a little more lemon juice than called for. All three times i have made it were perfect. My mother even commented "Better than grandmas."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a very good recipe, producing a good tasting lemon meringue pie. The only complaint, thus only 4 star rating, is that there wasn't enough filling for the 9" - deep pie plate I used. The amount of filling would be enough for a shallow pie plate. When I use this recipe again I will increase the filling by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Pretty disappointed with the leaking of sugary syrup. Should I have cooled the filling before covering with meringue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperRachel
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
First off, the flavor in this pie was INCREDIBLE! I loved the fresh lemon flavor and the creamy meringue (though my little siblings did not care for it as much :P) However, the consistency of the lemon part reminded me a bit of creamy jell-o, and had a bit of a slippery texture. This may have to do with the fact that I used arrowroot starch (what we had on hand) instead of the cornstarch... Perhaps this was the issue? But overall I liked this recipe enough to want to mess around with the ingredients to see if I can get the texture just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this pie for Father's Day and followed the recipe exactly. The lemon custard never did set and was watery. The instructions did not indicate how long to cook until thick. I cooked until I thought it was thick - but it ended up watery. DO NOT recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is hands down a great pie! I have used this recipe frequently and have never had any problem with it in any way. Friends, family, colleagues, every one seems to love this recipe. The flavor, the balance of sweet to tart, the texture, are all perfect. It sets up well and I have never had any problems with any water in my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
WONDERFUL! I couldn't locate my mom's old standby to use to make for my son's graduation BBQ. I prefer pies that use corn starch as the thickening agent. This pie uses both, but found it to set up perfectly, it did not have the pasty flour taste I don't like when using flour only. I wondered if 2 lemons would be enough...this was perfectly tart/sweet and did remind me of my mom's. AND, I actually made meringue for the first time in years! It turned out lovely! I will most certainly make this again! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States