Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this pie on the eve of our Thanksgiving about 3 weeks ago. I did everything to the letter and gingerly slid my meringue topped delight into the oven and 5 minutes later the power went out. About 2 hours later the electricity was restored and the pie was still great! Thank you Emilie and GMa for a foolproof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Never made a homemade lemon meringue pie from scratch and was anxious about being able to get it right. I followed the directions to the letter and it turned out great! My boyfriend is very picky about pies and he loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My first attempt at lemon meringue. I read the review from CARTHECOOK, and skipped the zest. Like some of the other reviewers I increased the lemons to three. I made Emeril's Basic Pie Crust and baked two crusts for about 15 minutes. I doubled the recipe but whisked in more than 1/2 cup ( 1 cup doubled) of the hot sugar mixture. I put the meringue on top of the custard while it was still warm. I cooled the pie on the counter over an hour, but got over zealous and cut into one of the pies, before it was chilled. It was delicious but began to ooze. I then placed both pies into the refrig uncovered, after watching the related video, for the recommended three hours..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I took this recipe for my very first lemon meringue pie, changed all of the ingredients to 12 servings from 8 as it is shown, and it turned out to be really good! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
too much liquid to set properly....per my experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Tried 4 times. Kept getting watery pie:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
For my pie pan, I need to make it for 12 servings (and not the default 8). I followed a few suggestions, changing out the water for milk and using 1/2 cup lemon juice (as I had no lemons on me but I also made for 16 servings, so I'll reduce the lemon juice to 8 Tbps of juice next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This pie is dynamite! Easy to do and turned out perfect! 2nd year in a row for my "go to" lemon meringue pie! Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made this for my MIL since it's her favorite. It turned out fabulously! I also added about a quarter tsp of vanilla to the curd, but that's the only change from the original recipe I made and it was really good. I did take the suggestion and let it cool for about an hour after baking and then refrigerate for about 3 hours after cooling. There was no pie left by the end of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not much of a cook/baker here but was told this was a favorite by a friend so thought I'd give it a whirl. I was surprised at how easy this was to make. I made it exactly as per the recipe and it turned out great! I let cool for about 30 mins before refrigerating (posts on here recommend an hour but I wanted it chilled in time for dinner) and refrigerated for about 3 hours and it was great! Crust wasn't soggy... no runny curd or meringue. I'll definitely make this again given how easy it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States