Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
First time making lemon meringue pie. Read all the reviews, as per usual for extra tips. Making the meringue first was an excellent tip, as well as making sure that the meringue was sealed- turned out perfectly! I would definitely use this recipe again. I used the same amount of juice from the lemons, but I did add an extra tablespoon or so of the bottled lemon juice, just for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bfreckles
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Excellent! Despite some mellow weeping under the meringue it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
First time ever making a lemon meringue pie(which I usually don't care for)and it turned out perfect.The sweet and tart balance is perfect.I actually really enjoyed THIS lemon meringue pie!Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
For some reason I struggled with this recipe. First time it was soupy and didn't set. And it took forever to whip the meringue into stiff peaks. Second time I added more cornstarch (in water) and it set really thick. So if it's a little soupy it should still set fine. For meringue: beat eggs, then add 1 tbsp sugar at a time, beat more, etc, but not too much or else meringue will set too stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is hands down the best lemon meringue pie I've had. I have mate it over and over for family and for parties and it is always a huge hit. The recipe may be too sweet for some, but I think it is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
WOW!!! This tasted just as good as what you would get at a bakery. I followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect! My hubby really liked it too. I will for sure be making this again.. so easy and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My 1st time making lemon meringue and it worked! I read a lot of reviews and here's what worked for me. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. 2 important things - cook your pie shell first and increase the number of hours this really takes to about 8 hours. I had time for it to cool but not chill and it wasn't quite as great. Luckily, I made 2 pies and the next day served the other chilled one - incredible! Also, definitely double the recipe for the filling. It was great, can't imagine how little there would be if I hadn't doubled it. I kept meringue portion the same and it was enough for me but not a gigantic portion. I didn't know how to do meringue so here's what I learned. Whisk the eggs until foamy also means - until it doubles or triples in size so go beyond just the foamy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I am not a baker, but this recipe made my friends think I actually knew what I was doing. The filling was lemony deliciousness and the meringue (which of course is the part that made me pancicky) was a breeze. Totally hit at the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ailetcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Gould
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Easy to make and delicious! I made additional gluten free ramekins for myself in addition to the pie. I increased the recipe by half, used Bob's all purpose gluten free flour in place of the regular flour. Pour the lemon filling directly into ramekins and seal with meringue & bake 10 minutes. It's just as delicious, and an easy way to please both wheat eating pie lovers AND gluten free guests without much hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Gould

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Tip: Crush or grind finely about 4 ginger snap cookies (about 3 Tbs.); sprinkle over the bottom of the baked pie crust before filling. This makes a moisture barrier and prevents the bottom from getting soggy. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States