Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My 1st time making lemon meringue and it worked! I read a lot of reviews and here's what worked for me. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. 2 important things - cook your pie shell first and increase the number of hours this really takes to about 8 hours. I had time for it to cool but not chill and it wasn't quite as great. Luckily, I made 2 pies and the next day served the other chilled one - incredible! Also, definitely double the recipe for the filling. It was great, can't imagine how little there would be if I hadn't doubled it. I kept meringue portion the same and it was enough for me but not a gigantic portion. I didn't know how to do meringue so here's what I learned. Whisk the eggs until foamy also means - until it doubles or triples in size so go beyond just the foamy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I am not a baker, but this recipe made my friends think I actually knew what I was doing. The filling was lemony deliciousness and the meringue (which of course is the part that made me pancicky) was a breeze. Totally hit at the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ailetcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Gould
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Easy to make and delicious! I made additional gluten free ramekins for myself in addition to the pie. I increased the recipe by half, used Bob's all purpose gluten free flour in place of the regular flour. Pour the lemon filling directly into ramekins and seal with meringue & bake 10 minutes. It's just as delicious, and an easy way to please both wheat eating pie lovers AND gluten free guests without much hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Gould

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Tip: Crush or grind finely about 4 ginger snap cookies (about 3 Tbs.); sprinkle over the bottom of the baked pie crust before filling. This makes a moisture barrier and prevents the bottom from getting soggy. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Turned out very nicely, but the meringue really shrank after a couple of hours in the fridge. I followed the suggestion of others to make the meringue first (after prepping everything for the curd).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I feel like this didn't have the right "feel" for a lemon meringue. It was sort of good, but the meringue was far too eggy and didn't stick to the lemony part. I'll keep looking for the best lemon meringue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe is really, very good. The lemon filling is a perfect balance of lemon and sweet, and the merinuge is nice and fluffy. I made this for Easter lunch and everyone loved it! Paired with a homemade lard pie crust and it is delicious. Although, personally, I think I could have just made the pie crust and lemon filling and eaten the whole thing myself ^-^ Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made this for Easter for a filling for my mini tarts. It was SOOO good, best lemon pudding/pie filling I've made, and I have tried many. This will be my go to from now on....it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, made no changes and it came out perfect. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleen Sander
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
It turned out exactly as described for me!! I added more lemon Juice as I like a tart sweet pie, and I did not use real lemons. Lemon Juice was my choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Sander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States