Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was a great pie after some tweaking as follows: for the filling I used 1 1/4 cups of extra fine sugar, 3 1/2 tbsps of cornstarch 2 oz of lemon juice 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon extract and 1 tsp of vanilla extract (I don't like the way rinds feel when eaten).After I added the sugar mixture into the yolks,I turned down the temp on the stove and cooked the filling for 14 mins it turned out nice and thick.As for the meringue I turned the mixer on high and beat the whites for about 2 mins than I added 1/2 tsp of cream of tarter and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract.Then I added the sugar (extra fine) and let the mixer do it's magic for about 14 mins. After baking I cooled the pie for and hour on the counter and put it in the frig. It turned perfect, the filling was just right and the meringue did not pull away from the pie and there was no liquid underneath the meringue.Happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Excellent recipe! Nice and lemony, not too sweet with good proportions of curd and meringue. My second attempt on lemon meringue pie. I recommend stirring the curd very frequently to prevent burning. Remove the curd from heat only after it becomes really, really thick. Meringue to be added onto hot curd, such that the meringue bottom will cook. If the meringue bottom is not cooked the meringue will liquify and the pie will fail. Also let the pie sit for an hour at room temperature after baking, then 3 hours in the fridge to ensure everything has solidified, else upon cutting it the curd will ooze. Simple ingredients, but requires some understanding of how the meringue cooks ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Update 12/03: I still think this is a great recipe. In perfecting my technique, I'd like to suggest mix in one bowl the water, lemon zest, and lemon juice; mix in another bowl the sugar, flour, cornstarch, and salt. 12/02: This is a successful recipe for a delicious pie. I tried another recipe twice before for this kind of pie but the results were less than desirable. This recipe came out just right. The filling was firm, not runny! I zested 1 lemon rather than 2, but used the juice of 2. I'd like to offer the following: The recipe doesn't tell you about cooling and refrigeration. I let my pie cool 1 hr on a cookie rack, 3-6 hrs uncovered in the refrig before slicing, after 6 hrs in refrig, cover the pie (I used foil rather than plastic wrap.) Thanks Emilie S for passing this along. My hubbie and I are very grateful. I'll be making 3 of these for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1053 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamazilla
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Finally I have found the perfect recipe for lemon meringue pie! I made this tonight for my dad and it came out great. The only thing that I wasn't clear on was the amount of lemon juice to use. 2 lemons can mean different things to different people. I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice(about 3 lemons) and 1 tablespoon of zest. It was the perfect balance of sweet and tart. Also, it doesn't mention how to cool it. I left it at room temperature for about an hour and then put it in the refrigerator for about 5 hours. One tip I have is after the lemon filling starts to boil, only boil it for 1 minute so the cornstarch doesn't lose its thickening power. Then, after you add the tempered eggs back into the hot mixture, boil one more minute and it will be a perfect thickness. Also, when you fill the pie crust with the lemon filling, the crust should still be warm and when you top the pie with the meringue, the filling should still be pretty warm. This will help seal the meringue after it cools so it doesn't separate from the crust. I will definitely keep this recipe and I have a feeling I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamazilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
this pie was fantastic...after two tries of making it. the first try, it didn't make nearly enough to fill the pie plate (a deep dish 9" plate). also, it made kind of a gelatinous, almost clear jelly type substance. the flavor was good, but not at all what i was expecting. so, i dumped it and tried again the next day. after reading ALL the reviews, i followed Angela's suggestions from page 10. I changed the servings to 12, used milk instead of water (huge difference), used the zest from 3 lemons and the juice i got from them, which was 1/2 c., which was perfect, i also used about 1/2 tablespoon more cornstarch. making those changes yielded a yellow custard that i am used to seeing in lemon pies. after whisking the egg mixture back in, i lowered the heat to medium low and stirred until i felt it was thick enough. (maybe 10-15 minutes of constant stirring). after i spooned it into the pie shell and topped with meringue i let it cool to room temperature for over an hour then put it in the fridge for about 4 hours before i served it. i used Pie Crust IV and Meringue II from this site. it was, as my, self-proclaimed-lemon-meringue-pie- connoisseur father said: "pretty impressive". (he had thirds)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I'm an experienced baker but never tried lemon meringue pie because it's not my favorite. The ones I've tried were either sour or gummy or both. A friend requested a lemon pie so I gave it a shot. This recipe turned out perfectly, even I was surprised how much I love the taste. Took the suggestions to use 1/4 c. lemon juice, and milk (2%) instead of water. The filling was beautifully creamy, not too sweet, not too tart. I piled the meringue high on a hot filling. Make sure to nudge the meringue all the way to the edge of the crust to seal the filling. Was very happy with the results. No shrinking meringue, no watery layer, no seepage of the filling after the pie was cut. Even after refrigeration there were just a few little beads of sugary moisture dotting the meringue, but the filling held up and didn't sog up the bottom crust. I used Martha Stewart's Pate Brisee recipe (all butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is a good, but fairly standard lemon meringue pie with a rich, tart filling, and fluffy meringue. I prefer lemon meringue pie recipes like this one that call for water, rather than recipes using milk. I used three small lemons, which yielded about 1/2 c. of lemon juice and 1 T. zest. I would have preferred a thicker pie, however, so were I to make this again I would increase the recipe overall by half. Tip: a weepy meringue is sometimes a problem, but can generally be avoided by not overcooking the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Well considering my Mum almost fell off her chair when she started on her 1st piece of pie (she ended up having 3 and she usually doesn't eat desserts) - I took it as good indication that I had found a SENSATIONAL American recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. It's more successful than the Australian one I've always used and my whole family raved and wanted more. I will DEFINATLY make this one again. Although I did use milk instead of water for a beautiful creamy consistency and I added 2 more egg whites for lots of meringue - yummy!!!!! Kat Thomas, Melbourne Australia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Wow! I was surprised at how easy it is to make a lemon meringue pie!! I worked up some serious arm cramp from beating the filling. This was delicious and will certainly be making this again. To stop the weeping of the meringue, make the meringue first, then make the filling and make sure the filling is piping hot when you put on the meringue. also cook it maybe 12-15 instead of 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
What a great recipe! I've had many lemon fillings that never quite got the acid/sugar balance right, but this was bang on. I used 2 pretty large lemons and was quite pleased with the resulting flavour. Next time I'm going to mix up the citrus a little and add some lime and orange juice/zest. I've read some of the other reviews about the excess liquid they had to drain off once the pie cooled...a good trick is to add a tsp or so of cream of tartar to the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States