Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Fantastic on the first try. I changed the serving size to 12 and it was perfect for my deep-dish pie plate. I whipped the meringue VERY stiff and the curd came out perfectly, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
A fantastic recipe! Really easy and turned out perfect! The only thing I did outside of the recipe was add a teaspoon of Cream of Tartar to the meringue as to prevent "sweating" and 1 extra yolk to the lemon curd. I also baked the pie for about 20 min at 325. I will be making this one again for sure! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
First time ever making a Lemon Meringue Pie. Glad I choose this recipe. The lemon curd has great flavor and is spot on. The meringue came out perfect. The human error on my part was the lemon curd didn't settle and I know it is because I did something wrong. But it was good to eat anyway. Being the first time here, I am positive I will figure it out, meanwhile thank you for sharing and I will be making this again. Oh by the way.. I made this into 6 individual pies using a jumbo muffin tin. What fun I had making these. Whipping up the meringue I was in there laughing my head off watching it come to peeks. Thank you Emilie S. Update: The filling actually got firmer after having it in the refrigerator a few hours. So I guess all really went well. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! I didn't have fresh lemons, so I used bottled lemon juice. It came out perfectly. A couple people had seconds on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (with the exception of a little extra lemon zest, as i like a tart pie.) And it came out great.. I wouldn't tweak it at all. the curd set good and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Had a great tangy yet sweet filling and the meringue was nice and the right consistency. I like a lot of meringue so I doubled the meringue! Turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made mine gluten free!! Instead of flour I substituted equal amount of Trader Joe's gluten free flour mix. I used these modifications from CARTHECOOK 's suggestions in her review: Filling: 1-1/4c sugar (regular granules), 3-1/2 TBSP corn starch Meringue: mixed for about 2 minutes then added 1/2 tsp cream of tartar & 1 tsp vanilla extract. I let it beat for the amount of time it took me to wash a few dishes - maybe 3 minutes or so. It came out stiff and fluffy. The filling was super thick before even adding the egg yolks. The pies are in the fridge now, but I don't doubt they will be perfect! A little hint: Use farm fresh eggs for increased color and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved making this recipe, simple and so much fun to make. I have found my go to recipe for a lemon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have been baking since I was allowed to use the oven but I've never made lemon meringue pie...it just seemed so intimidating. I tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly. I still can't believe I actually made it. I loved the flavor and the meringue. I used shortbread crust and thought it complimented the filling nicely. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
this the best lemon meringue pie I have ever had!!!...Iv made this pie several times and it always goes in one place setting...you actually get one 9 inch pie...I never changed a thing in this recipe(first time ever ). Made exactly how the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States