Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I tried before to make lemon curd but failed, your video and recipe are just spot on. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipperary, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
great flavor and textures. Going to try a mixer next time, was too difficult to beat the eggs by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
It's 4 a.m. and I'm secretly tasting my first-ever lemon meringue pie. It's delicious! I made it in a 9" ceramic pie plate. I was worried that my crust would get burnt by the time it all finished baking, but I guess the ceramic plates are more forgiving and ideal for beginner bakers... As other reviews suggested I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice and a little bit over 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. I think that it could be a little bit more tart -- but ten I would have half of the pie at once by myself! For the filling I replaced water with milk and added 1/2 tablespoon more of cornstarch like the other reviewers suggested. Thank you folks for explaining how the physics of this pie work, I have very little experience baking and it seemed like a level-up to me, but after reading all of the reviews I knew exactly what to do and the pie turned out perfect! My meringue did flatten a bit after I put it in the refrigerator. I cooled the pie for 1 hr in room temperature first -- maybe it was a little bit too early? I'll wait longer next time. Aside from that, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The filling is really good. Both Times that I have made this pie, I end up with a meringue that shrinks. I like a thick meringue layer, and felt this was not enough for a 9 inch pie. Yummy. Im going to work on adjusting the meringue and keep using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've made this pie twice and everyone really liked it. The second time I left out the flour and used 4tabs. Cornstarch instead. And please.....use real sugar! Very good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wonderful! Made for family gathering by request. Increased lemon and zest to 1/2 cup, and used milk instead of water; added cream of tarter to topping which made the pie picture perfect. Just breath taking and everyone was impressed. Plan to make it at our next function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
If there was a 6th star option, I would gladly give it to this recipe. I've made this twice and each time it is heavenly, lemony perfection. Sweet, but not too sweet. Tart, but not too tart. For the crust, I usually do a frozen store bought because, although I'm a great cook, I fail at pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy to make and very good, I added fresh blueberries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Nice flavor. I am not a baker and had no problems w the meringue setting or the filling being too thin as others reviewers alluded to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States