Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The Meringue wasn't whipped and it was more bubbly and very flat. There was also a lot more lemon than meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yes yes yes! I did make this substituting the water for milk. Delish. I have tried it bothlemon and lime. Delish either way. My very picky hubby loves it! Has never lasted long enough for others to try it.. I only gave it 4 because of my milk subsitution, but in all fairness I haven't tried it with water so I do not know how it compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babi Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have never made lemon meringue pie before, so I just made it for myself. It came out fantastic! I am a pretty experienced baker and I found the recipe very easy to follow. It was the perfect mix between sweet and tart and tastes like heaven. I plan on making this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great tasting, with a perfect amount of sweetness and tartness and without a starchy flavor that some pies have. The meringue was nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. Making it was really fun... despite almost burning down the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Perfection! Made as written. No 'tweaking' is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Lots of compliments on this recipe. This is the first lemon meringue I have attempted, and I found this recipe to be simple and easy! I love the natural lemon flavor. I used instant clearjel and didn't have a runny pie. It also greatly reduced the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I substituted Splenda for the Sugar in the filling 1 cup for 1 cup.. turned out WONDERFUL!!! this recipe is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was my first try at a lemon meringue pie completely from scratch. I Followed this recipe as written. It was simple and the taste is absolutely spot on. Thank you for this simple, delicious and inexpensive recipe. Also, I think my sweetie loves me a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this for a family get together on Memorial Day weekend. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. From reading other reviews, I zested roughly 1tbs and squeezed 1/2 cup of lemon juice (which ended up being 2 lemons as the recipe says). Once I poured the eggs into my sugar mixture, I only let it boil a minute more so it didn't get too thick. I also baked the pie crust in the oven until it was slightly golden before pouring the curd inside. I used my mixer to make the meringue and poured it over the warm curd. Once out of the oven, I let it sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then put it in the fridge for an additional 5 hours to let it firm up. Another great recipe to keep in my recipe box! I love tartness, so maybe next time I may add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States