Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I am making this recipe and it's on the stove waiting to cool. I just want to shove it in my face it looks so good!!!!!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
So good! My husband absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
lemon cusard, excellant. Meringue to perfection...paired it with your cream cheese and butter pie crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this exactly according to the recipe (only baking for 12 minutes to get the meringue the proper golden brown). This was my first time making a meringue pie and it turned out perfect and delicious! I cracked the eggs first to separate them, because I had read that it is easier to separate the yolks and whites of cold eggs, then let the whites sit at room temperature because they whip up easier when not as cold (I also made the meringue using my kitchen-aid, which I'm sure helped out a lot). With the two lemons I used, I got about 1 tablespoon of zest, and 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I used a pre-made frozen pie crust, which I baked ahead of time. After baking the completed pie, I let it cool at room temperature for an hour, then in the fridge for 3 hours, according to the video instructions on this recipe. I tented some aluminum foil over it, leaving a little gap to help the moisture escape, as a previous reviewer had suggested. I think I will make the meringue before the filling next time, only because it separated a bit from the filling, but the taste and texture was still incredible. Thank you for a delicious, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
All I can say is... Wow. I've never been a huge lemon pie fan, but for some reason I have been on a lemon kick lately so I decided to try this and I was so happy I did! We are watching our sugar intake, so I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup plus about 1/4 cup of Stevia and it worked out great. The merengue came out perfect as well -- I was proud of myself! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I used a graham cracker crust and this turned out really yummy. I also made another substituting lime for lemon and I liked it even better. I plan to try it again but I'm hoping to find a substitute for the flour as I need something gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I baked it for an hour and a half and it still didn't thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Store didn't have lemons but used 4 limes instead. Oh! and the meringue takes FOREVER to whip by hand, so use a mixer! Super tasty though. Family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a good recipe, but I always have a problem with the single crust. It always falls down into the pie plate during baking. Today I prepared two 10-inch crusts in glass pans and put them in the freezer for 15 minutes before baking at 350 degrees. The first crust fell even though I used metal pie weights (they were light-weight and not long enough). Before baking the second crust, I covered it with three layers of aluminum foil and then put a smaller glass pie plate on top of it, tucking it just under the edge of the crust. It worked! The sides of the crust remained in place! (I removed the smaller pie plate halfway through the baking time.) Because my granddaughter requested a lemon meringue pie instead of a birthday cake, I wanted it to be perfect. To tell the truth, though, I probably could have used the fallen pie crust, because you couldn't see the crust after the meringue was put on. I use Martha Stewart's pate brisee recipe for my pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States