Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Add more lemon juice to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparkels857
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this recipe with the revisions of CartheCook from September 23, 2005 review. Except I used fresh lemons and zest and I had to use three to get the perfect flavor. The only problem was mine came out green. I don't know what I did wrong but other than that this would have been perfect it wasn't waterey the meringue came out awesome. I just need to know why mine came out green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Everything lemon meringue pie should be: tart, smooth, and utterly addictive. A word of caution: don't make this alone. You might eat the whole pie yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Heavy and dense. Home made with a store bought taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Best Lemon Meringue pie ever. I run the filling through a fine sieve after it has been cooked to remove the bits of zest, which add an undesired texture to the pie, but other than that, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My first lemon meringue pie. It was a phenomenal success! This will be my recipe, I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Awesome! Used one cup water and half a cup of milk and it still turned out nice and creamy. This is the first recipe I have followed that hasn't curdled the filling. The meringue took a long time to thicken but it turned out perfect with a pinch of cream of tartar added near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe is great. The lemon curd is delicious. The only thing I do differently is make more merengue. Merengue deflates a bit after baking so if you increase the merengue by 2 egg whites and 2 more tablespoons of sugar you will have a perfect amount for 1 pie. I also add 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the egg whites before whipping them (they whip up more easily with this) and I add a half teaspoon of vanilla to make the merengue extra flavorful. Hope you enjoy these tips! Yum on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cambodia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious and beautiful so present and serve. I will make a lot more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Ok, so I've made this pie before and its wonderful however, I keep forgetting to double the curd its just not enough to fill a decent pie. Also I use another small lemon, zest and juice and 1 extra tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States