Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. Making it was really fun... despite almost burning down the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Perfection! Made as written. No 'tweaking' is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Lots of compliments on this recipe. This is the first lemon meringue I have attempted, and I found this recipe to be simple and easy! I love the natural lemon flavor. I used instant clearjel and didn't have a runny pie. It also greatly reduced the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I substituted Splenda for the Sugar in the filling 1 cup for 1 cup.. turned out WONDERFUL!!! this recipe is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was my first try at a lemon meringue pie completely from scratch. I Followed this recipe as written. It was simple and the taste is absolutely spot on. Thank you for this simple, delicious and inexpensive recipe. Also, I think my sweetie loves me a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this for a family get together on Memorial Day weekend. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. From reading other reviews, I zested roughly 1tbs and squeezed 1/2 cup of lemon juice (which ended up being 2 lemons as the recipe says). Once I poured the eggs into my sugar mixture, I only let it boil a minute more so it didn't get too thick. I also baked the pie crust in the oven until it was slightly golden before pouring the curd inside. I used my mixer to make the meringue and poured it over the warm curd. Once out of the oven, I let it sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then put it in the fridge for an additional 5 hours to let it firm up. Another great recipe to keep in my recipe box! I love tartness, so maybe next time I may add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
First time making lemon meringue pie from scratch. WOW was it delicious. Made the filling and meringue exactly as the recipe is written (but used baked graham cracker crust). Lemon juice came out to about 1/2 cup. Don't use milk if you want a real lemon meringue pie! Perfect tang and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe didn't need any tweeting! It's perfect just the way it is. Super fast and perfect for a summer evening desert after the scotching heat of the day. Definitely going to make this again and again. My meringue didn't pull away and my zest totally melted away. And I didn't have to cook it for 14 minutes. WOW I bet yours was really really thick. Mine was perfect and it couldn't have been any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
this pie is fantastic!!!!! I left out the lemon zest and added a couple of small squirts of yellow food colouring to the filling. The meringue was about 3 inches high as I really piled it up. I also added cream of tartar to the meringue. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
First time I made this and it was outstanding! Dad just loved it. I'm making another one real soon. So happy I found this recipe. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States