Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, made no changes and it came out perfect. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleen Sander
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
It turned out exactly as described for me!! I added more lemon Juice as I like a tart sweet pie, and I did not use real lemons. Lemon Juice was my choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Sander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wacky Sheila
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
My husband is a lemon meringue pie connoisseur and he said this was the best pie he's had since his 'Mum' passed. That is high praise from my Awesome Aussie. I'd tried canned fillings and various other recipes but none came out with the great taste and tartness of this one. Thank you for posting this recipe so I can give him a taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wacky Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
My first lemon meringue from scratch - followed recipe to the T! Everyone said was delicious. Followed suggestion to put meringue on top of curd while hot and left out to cool for a good hour or more before putting in fridge. Turned out perfect....will definitely use at least 1 tbsp zest next time as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this, my first ever homemade lemon meringue pie, yesterday for easter dinner and it was a hit. I read lots of the reviews and made the meringue first, so that I could put it immediately on the hot lemon filling. I also followed others' advice to use about 1/2 cup of lemon juice (about 2.5 lemons), and the zest from only one lemon. The tart/sweet balance was perfect. The only other change I made was to add 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar to the meringue as it really helps stiffen and preserve the peaks in the meringue, making for a beautiful effect on the finished product. My only advice to others is to make sure you CONSTANTLY whisk the lemon mixture as you are cooking it or you'll have some lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First time making a Lemon Meringue pie and it was awesome. Only issue I had was I should have blind baked my pie crust a bit longer. I did use the same technique for making cream pies that another user suggested, bring curd to a boil, boil 1 minute and after tempering the eggs boil another minute. My curd set up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saharajones
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made exactly to recipe and it was very good. All at the extended family holiday meal thoroughly enjoyed it. I tend to like a bite from lemon so next time I'll use juice and zest from three instead of two lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Awesome! I did follow the other reviewers and used milk instead of water, used three lemons - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I am making this recipe and it's on the stove waiting to cool. I just want to shove it in my face it looks so good!!!!!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
So good! My husband absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States