Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
It's 4 a.m. and I'm secretly tasting my first-ever lemon meringue pie. It's delicious! I made it in a 9" ceramic pie plate. I was worried that my crust would get burnt by the time it all finished baking, but I guess the ceramic plates are more forgiving and ideal for beginner bakers... As other reviews suggested I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice and a little bit over 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. I think that it could be a little bit more tart -- but ten I would have half of the pie at once by myself! For the filling I replaced water with milk and added 1/2 tablespoon more of cornstarch like the other reviewers suggested. Thank you folks for explaining how the physics of this pie work, I have very little experience baking and it seemed like a level-up to me, but after reading all of the reviews I knew exactly what to do and the pie turned out perfect! My meringue did flatten a bit after I put it in the refrigerator. I cooled the pie for 1 hr in room temperature first -- maybe it was a little bit too early? I'll wait longer next time. Aside from that, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The filling is really good. Both Times that I have made this pie, I end up with a meringue that shrinks. I like a thick meringue layer, and felt this was not enough for a 9 inch pie. Yummy. Im going to work on adjusting the meringue and keep using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've made this pie twice and everyone really liked it. The second time I left out the flour and used 4tabs. Cornstarch instead. And please.....use real sugar! Very good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Disappointing; tasted store bought. I went through a lot of work hoping for a nice homemade pie but it was a flop. The lemon filling was overly sweet and had a sticky taste. Texturally it was fine but it was dense and heavy. I'd prefer a lighter, creamier filling. The meringue turned out okay. It had some defects but more as a result of my inexperience with meringue as a topping than the recipe, although more detailed instructions would be nice. EDIT: I actually just realized I unintentionally made the recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie III from AllRecipes instead of this one like I thought I was making all along. It won't let me delete this review. I guess I'll have to make this one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wonderful! Made for family gathering by request. Increased lemon and zest to 1/2 cup, and used milk instead of water; added cream of tarter to topping which made the pie picture perfect. Just breath taking and everyone was impressed. Plan to make it at our next function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
If there was a 6th star option, I would gladly give it to this recipe. I've made this twice and each time it is heavenly, lemony perfection. Sweet, but not too sweet. Tart, but not too tart. For the crust, I usually do a frozen store bought because, although I'm a great cook, I fail at pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy to make and very good, I added fresh blueberries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Nice flavor. I am not a baker and had no problems w the meringue setting or the filling being too thin as others reviewers alluded to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I made this twice now. The first time, I was in the middle of the process when I realized I couldn't find my measuring spoons. So, I ended up not quite putting the right amount of corn starch in. Needless to say, it was a little runny that time. Second time around, equipped with proper measuring spoons, it turned out perfect. After reading some of the reviews where people had trouble, I will say: if your pie is runny, its because you didn't add enough starch .. the second time around I did add an extra 1/4 teaspoon of cornstarch). If the meringue isn't fluffing up enough, I used a hand mixer and it fluffed up perfect with stiff peaks (this was my first pie I ever made, and first time making meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States