Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
You could have included a little more detail in recipe. I added some cream of tarter to get egg whites to form peaks. It would have been a better recipe if it had told me to add meringue to hot filling. I got water in pie because I cooled it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Just made this. It was my first attempt at making a meringue or a pie. Everyone loved it!!!! It was perfect. I made no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Penny Shea
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This pie is awesome ! My husband never liked lemon pie now he cleans it up. I love that I can use fresh lemons off our trees and it turns out perfect every time. I did adjust the meringue thou I do as the recipe calls but I add 1/8 cream of Tartar and a drop of white Mexican vanilla Gives the meringue a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Definitely needs some changes, mine turned out a little too tart the flavours weren't quite balanced so for the filling next time I would: -add more sugar or less lemon to the filling (I had large lemons so that might be the issue, the filling was too acidic) -filling was OK. The consistency was not thick enough so as in other reviews add more cornstarch!!! -more meringue less filling, I found the ratio was unbalanced -DO NOT USE A STORE BOUGHT CRUST, my biggest mistake was that, although the pre-made works for some pies, it really doesn't stand up to this one enough- definitely roll out a thicker crust for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate cockbain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Consuelo Smith
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Consuelo Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vbiddle
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great recipe I added half teaspoon of cream of tartar to the meringue came out great and tasted great. Grandkids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Just made this recipe using the suggestion of milk and lemon juice instead of plain water. Excellent!!! Easy and delicious! Greeneyedlady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I followed the recipe as written and I wouldn't change a thing. This pie is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snoozyq
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe is so yummy and I will never but store bought filling again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Muniz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Love this recipe just like what my grandmother made and I'm so glad I found it because most of her recipes were not written down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Muniz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA
Living In: Readfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States