Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've made this pie twice and everyone really liked it. The second time I left out the flour and used 4tabs. Cornstarch instead. And please.....use real sugar! Very good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I didn't understand she made the filling nd the meringue but what about the main crust (first layer) how can I bake it with only a filling and where can I find the recipe for the first main layer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hassan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Disappointing; tasted store bought. I went through a lot of work hoping for a nice homemade pie but it was a flop. The lemon filling was overly sweet and had a sticky taste. Texturally it was fine but it was dense and heavy. I'd prefer a lighter, creamier filling. The meringue turned out okay. It had some defects but more as a result of my inexperience with meringue as a topping than the recipe, although more detailed instructions would be nice. EDIT: I actually just realized I unintentionally made the recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie III from AllRecipes instead of this one like I thought I was making all along. It won't let me delete this review. I guess I'll have to make this one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wonderful! Made for family gathering by request. Increased lemon and zest to 1/2 cup, and used milk instead of water; added cream of tarter to topping which made the pie picture perfect. Just breath taking and everyone was impressed. Plan to make it at our next function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
If there was a 6th star option, I would gladly give it to this recipe. I've made this twice and each time it is heavenly, lemony perfection. Sweet, but not too sweet. Tart, but not too tart. For the crust, I usually do a frozen store bought because, although I'm a great cook, I fail at pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy to make and very good, I added fresh blueberries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Nice flavor. I am not a baker and had no problems w the meringue setting or the filling being too thin as others reviewers alluded to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I made this twice now. The first time, I was in the middle of the process when I realized I couldn't find my measuring spoons. So, I ended up not quite putting the right amount of corn starch in. Needless to say, it was a little runny that time. Second time around, equipped with proper measuring spoons, it turned out perfect. After reading some of the reviews where people had trouble, I will say: if your pie is runny, its because you didn't add enough starch .. the second time around I did add an extra 1/4 teaspoon of cornstarch). If the meringue isn't fluffing up enough, I used a hand mixer and it fluffed up perfect with stiff peaks (this was my first pie I ever made, and first time making meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The Meringue wasn't whipped and it was more bubbly and very flat. There was also a lot more lemon than meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States