Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wonderful pie! I made it the day before and chilled the filling before I added the meringue. I did try the Never-Ever-Fail Meringue by Carol on this site (I HAD to be sure!). Will make this again, one of my dad's favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I forgot to add the butter and it still turned out great. I also added 1/2 more teaspoon of cornstarch and followed the rest of the recipe as written. The filling set perfectly. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved this pie! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This recipe was a huge hit Thanksgiving! Subbing 1/2 cup of milk for 1/2 cup of the water = a dreamy creamy filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We made this with limes that were leftover from a margarita-making party. Excellent! Used the juice from 4 limes. Not too tart, not too sweet! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
It was a delicious pie over-all, but I think next time I will tweak the recipe a bit. The lemon base was bit loose, so I will probably increase the cornstarch to 3 1/2 tablespoons. I will also decrease the lemon zest to 1 tablespoon rather than the 2-3 tablespoons I got out of my two lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay Eissler
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good recipe! I used my Meyers Lemons that I picked from my tree. I also used a Homemade Graham Cracker Crust. I sprinkled some lemon zest on the Meringue after taking it out of the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Eissler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this and the filling was like soup. The ingredients were correct and it did get very thick but when I took it off the heat and added the lemon juice and butter it went very runny again. Should I have cooked it after adding the juice. It doesn't say that. I liked the taste but it was not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So delicious my boyfriends dad Loved it can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The recipe is fine, except that there's no cream of tartar in the meringue. That's why people are seeing their meringue getting soupy. Also, make sure your custard is cooked thick. Your refrigerator is not magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Munro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States