Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I used a graham cracker crust and this turned out really yummy. I also made another substituting lime for lemon and I liked it even better. I plan to try it again but I'm hoping to find a substitute for the flour as I need something gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is the worst pie recipe in the world!!!! I'm saying this because of the thickness when I bake it !!!! ?? I baked it for an hour and a half and it still didn't thicken !!! What a stupid piece of ?? !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Store didn't have lemons but used 4 limes instead. Oh! and the meringue takes FOREVER to whip by hand, so use a mixer! Super tasty though. Family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a good recipe, but I always have a problem with the single crust. It always falls down into the pie plate during baking. Today I prepared two 10-inch crusts in glass pans and put them in the freezer for 15 minutes before baking at 350 degrees. The first crust fell even though I used metal pie weights (they were light-weight and not long enough). Before baking the second crust, I covered it with three layers of aluminum foil and then put a smaller glass pie plate on top of it, tucking it just under the edge of the crust. It worked! The sides of the crust remained in place! (I removed the smaller pie plate halfway through the baking time.) Because my granddaughter requested a lemon meringue pie instead of a birthday cake, I wanted it to be perfect. To tell the truth, though, I probably could have used the fallen pie crust, because you couldn't see the crust after the meringue was put on. I use Martha Stewart's pate brisee recipe for my pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Fabulous. HOWEVER the recipe NEEDS to include resting/chilling time before you do the meringue. I'd recommend hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The curd came out soupy, did not set at all. I added an extra tablespoon of starch, and cooked it extra long, didn't make a difference. Will be trying a different recipe next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
You could have included a little more detail in recipe. I added some cream of tarter to get egg whites to form peaks. It would have been a better recipe if it had told me to add meringue to hot filling. I got water in pie because I cooled it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Just made this. It was my first attempt at making a meringue or a pie. Everyone loved it!!!! It was perfect. I made no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Penny Shea
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This pie is awesome ! My husband never liked lemon pie now he cleans it up. I love that I can use fresh lemons off our trees and it turns out perfect every time. I did adjust the meringue thou I do as the recipe calls but I add 1/8 cream of Tartar and a drop of white Mexican vanilla Gives the meringue a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States