Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious! I did add 1 teaspoon cream of tartar to the meringue, just because I always use it in meringue. My husband loved this for his birthday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have made this 3 times now for my hubby's birthday. He absolutely loves it. I am not a great baker, but this recipe is not difficult. I do use the juice of 3 lemons instead of 2, but other than that I follow it as written. It has gotten me great brownie points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been baking for years. Everything from cookies to custom cakes. I've always struggled with pies and especially meringue topping. This is hands down the best tasting prettiest lemon meringue pie recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gallegos752
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Delicious! Next time I might add more lemons. Mine were kind of small. Definitively fixed my lemon meringue craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was good but i had to bring the amount of cornstarch up to 5 tablespoons to get the right consistency. It was alittle to strong with lemon flavor to me put all in all it was a good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I tried before to make lemon curd but failed, your video and recipe are just spot on. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipperary, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
great flavor and textures. Going to try a mixer next time, was too difficult to beat the eggs by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
It's 4 a.m. and I'm secretly tasting my first-ever lemon meringue pie. It's delicious! I made it in a 9" ceramic pie plate. I was worried that my crust would get burnt by the time it all finished baking, but I guess the ceramic plates are more forgiving and ideal for beginner bakers... As other reviews suggested I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice and a little bit over 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. I think that it could be a little bit more tart -- but ten I would have half of the pie at once by myself! For the filling I replaced water with milk and added 1/2 tablespoon more of cornstarch like the other reviewers suggested. Thank you folks for explaining how the physics of this pie work, I have very little experience baking and it seemed like a level-up to me, but after reading all of the reviews I knew exactly what to do and the pie turned out perfect! My meringue did flatten a bit after I put it in the refrigerator. I cooled the pie for 1 hr in room temperature first -- maybe it was a little bit too early? I'll wait longer next time. Aside from that, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The filling is really good. Both Times that I have made this pie, I end up with a meringue that shrinks. I like a thick meringue layer, and felt this was not enough for a 9 inch pie. Yummy. Im going to work on adjusting the meringue and keep using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States