Grandma's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was very easy to make. It was my first time making the dish. My famiy and I thought it was YUM- YUMMY!. It was even better the second day. (Not much was left from the night before.) I followed the recipe as listed. The only thing I would do differently is use frozen veggies. I usually don't use can veggies and would like to compare the taste. Also, I let the crust chilled for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Oh Yum! used a prepackaged pie crust instead. Sauteed onion, garlic, thyme, oregano, basil, s&p in butter and EVOO, poured in the balance of her ingredients & a can of mushroom and wahlah....perfectly seasoned and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I used ready to fill pie crust and frozen veggies. EXCELLENT recipe! My husband a picky eater loved it, THANK YOU Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie
Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jscales
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this dish the day after Thanksgiving. Instead of making the pie crust, I used pre-made pie crust (two 9 inch Pillsbury ready made pie crust). I also added a half can of corn, frozen veggies (carrots, broccoli, cauliflower) and added some poultry season to the mix to add flavor. My family loved it! Made some Sweet Yellow Corn Bread Muffins (Pioneer brand) and they complimented the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe is delicious! Best pot pie I have ever tasted! To make things a little easier I used store bought refridgerated pie crust. Will be making this often for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe, thanks! My husband and 2 boys loved it (and that's saying something these days). I made my own crusts with this recipe. They were VERY light and flaky, and wonderfully thick. My only changes to the crust recipe... substituted a couple tbsp butter when I ran out of shortening AND substituted 1 tbsp white vinegar for part of the chilled water (my grandma's trick for flaky crust). I also baked it at 450F for the first 10-15 minutes to brown the crust. Perfect! The filling was tasty and very easy with frozen veggies and canned soup. Thanks for a yummy farewell to the Christmas bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is the best turkey pot pie that I have ever made.Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made this for dinner tonite and it was a big hit! Instead of making my own crusts, I used frozen Marie Callendar's deep dish pie crusts. One for the bottom and the other for the top crust. The filling was enough to make 2 pies, so I froze the extra to use for another meal. I didn't have any cream of potato soup, but I had cream of celery and used that instead. My husband, who is very picky and doesn't like casserole type dishes went crazy. He said "this is even better than Marie Callendar's" (his favorite for pot pie). We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this using leftover turkey chopped up, 1 small package of frozen mixed vegetables, 1 can of cream of chicken,1 can of cream of potato soup, 1/2 onion chopped, and 1 can of water. I sauteed the onion and turkey in 1 tablespoon of olive oil for about 2 minutes just till onions were clear. Then, I added the soups, and mixed in 1/2 can of water from each can (for a total of 1 can). I simmered the turkey mixture for about 10 minutes till it started bubbling. While that simmered, I let the 2 pie crusts from the box come to room temperature, then laid one crust in a pie baking dish. Filled it with the turkey mixture until just below the edge, and covered with the 2nd crust. Crimped the edges together, slit in the middle and baked in oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Better than store bought pot pie! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I made my own crust but otherwise made it exactly to the recipe and it is wonderful. My husband and 2 year old loved it too. Great way to use up leftover turkey or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States