Grandma's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe is delicious! Best pot pie I have ever tasted! To make things a little easier I used store bought refridgerated pie crust. Will be making this often for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was very easy to make. It was my first time making the dish. My famiy and I thought it was YUM- YUMMY!. It was even better the second day. (Not much was left from the night before.) I followed the recipe as listed. The only thing I would do differently is use frozen veggies. I usually don't use can veggies and would like to compare the taste. Also, I let the crust chilled for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jscales
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this dish the day after Thanksgiving. Instead of making the pie crust, I used pre-made pie crust (two 9 inch Pillsbury ready made pie crust). I also added a half can of corn, frozen veggies (carrots, broccoli, cauliflower) and added some poultry season to the mix to add flavor. My family loved it! Made some Sweet Yellow Corn Bread Muffins (Pioneer brand) and they complimented the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Oh Yum! used a prepackaged pie crust instead. Sauteed onion, garlic, thyme, oregano, basil, s&p in butter and EVOO, poured in the balance of her ingredients & a can of mushroom and wahlah....perfectly seasoned and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe, thanks! My husband and 2 boys loved it (and that's saying something these days). I made my own crusts with this recipe. They were VERY light and flaky, and wonderfully thick. My only changes to the crust recipe... substituted a couple tbsp butter when I ran out of shortening AND substituted 1 tbsp white vinegar for part of the chilled water (my grandma's trick for flaky crust). I also baked it at 450F for the first 10-15 minutes to brown the crust. Perfect! The filling was tasty and very easy with frozen veggies and canned soup. Thanks for a yummy farewell to the Christmas bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made this for dinner tonite and it was a big hit! Instead of making my own crusts, I used frozen Marie Callendar's deep dish pie crusts. One for the bottom and the other for the top crust. The filling was enough to make 2 pies, so I froze the extra to use for another meal. I didn't have any cream of potato soup, but I had cream of celery and used that instead. My husband, who is very picky and doesn't like casserole type dishes went crazy. He said "this is even better than Marie Callendar's" (his favorite for pot pie). We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this using leftover turkey chopped up, 1 small package of frozen mixed vegetables, 1 can of cream of chicken,1 can of cream of potato soup, 1/2 onion chopped, and 1 can of water. I sauteed the onion and turkey in 1 tablespoon of olive oil for about 2 minutes just till onions were clear. Then, I added the soups, and mixed in 1/2 can of water from each can (for a total of 1 can). I simmered the turkey mixture for about 10 minutes till it started bubbling. While that simmered, I let the 2 pie crusts from the box come to room temperature, then laid one crust in a pie baking dish. Filled it with the turkey mixture until just below the edge, and covered with the 2nd crust. Crimped the edges together, slit in the middle and baked in oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Better than store bought pot pie! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this recipe and used refrigerated pie crust, 1 can of carrots, and 1 can of peas. Everything else was as the recipe indicated. My daughter, 5 1/2 years old, said it was the best dinner ever and that she would give it 12 stars, not 5. She, like me, scooped up bits of the crust with the veggies and turkey and the yummy sauce. Yum. My son, 3 1/2, he poked all the things separately. We had half the pie leftover. My parents warmed it up and thought it was superb. Mom thought brandy added to the sauce or sauteed mushrooms would be great additions. I might try that next time along with reducing the amount of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It was very good. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this recipe with leftover veggies and turkey. I added garlic and onion powder and white pepper to dough based on other comments. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States