Grandma's Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My hubby's tummy isn't easy to please, but this sandwich was a huge hit with him! I added black forest ham. Saved it to my recipe box, as I will be making it again and again. Thank you so much for sharing your grandma's wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
If I make this again I will add in more ingredients. The bread was too soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Excellent. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These are FANTASTIC. I made them with an Extra sharp cheddar, but you can do so many variations of these it's endless. YUMMY! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I was a little worried about the eggy, French toast texture of the bread, but it all comes together with great flavor and flare. It's like garlic bread meets grilled cheese meets French toast all in one. My husband loved them and he's not a grilled cheese fan. Can't wait to make again and experiment with other types of cheeses like mozzarella, provolone, or a blend of different cheeses. Thanks, rae for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Talk about a phenomenal grilled cheese! Love this concept and the final product. I could eat the whole batch myself. This will definitely go into the lunch/dinner rotation in our house. Would be lovely with tomato basil soup or a tomato salad. I want one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I reviewed this recipe back when it was still a personal recipe. "We make these, too! Sometimes, if I have the inclination I'll add pepperoni in the middle and serve it with hot marinara. My kids especially flip for these. Even better results, cook in the cast iron skillet with a nice pat of butter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Sorry Rae, but there is something in your recipe that you really have to change!! Six sandwiches will NOT serve 6 people! Back it down to '6 sandwiches will serve 3 at the most!!!' LOL Gotta love 'em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
There's just something about ooey, gooey melted cheese between a couple of slices of cripy bread... I LOVE grilled cheese and this is a nice twist with a bit of an Italian flair! This was so easy and so good! I opted to sandwich some mozzarella cheese slices in between with some thin sliced tomato and fresh basil to take the already awesome recipe over the top! Thanks for sharing a great recipe rae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Wow! Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States