Grandma's Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Didn't go out the way I thought it would. The bread tasted soggy, cheese didn't melt right. Tasted fine... a bit too garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was a quick alternative to the bland grilled cheese sandwich. I am just starting to pay attention to cooking (really) and it was a surprisingly tasty sandwich with all the little spices and egg adding a little more depth. Still this recipe might be better with a little balsamic or pesto. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I did not love this. It had a weird sweet taste to it. I really didn't love the egg on the outside. My kids didn't really enjoy it either. They preferred the brussels sprouts that I cooked as a side. I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Honestly this was more of a three star for me, but hubby and kids loved it. I so wanted to like this, but I was thrown off by the egg coating, which never really crisped like "regular" grilled cheese. I felt I could achieve something tastier by skipping the egg and simply seasoning the butter I fried the sandwiches in. Has potential, but as is, not my particular cup o' tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
the seasonings were just a little too overpowering for me.. used cheddar instead of american and threw in a bit of grilled onion.. idk if i'm going to attempt to make this again.. but if i do i'll see if maybe half the seasonings would cut it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a little unsure of how I felt about this sandwich, it was just a little weird. The outside was too eggy for me and never crisped up. 3 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Quick and easy recipe for my school's Culinary Club. The garlic was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious Italian twist on grilled cheese. This would fantastic with a bowl of tomato soup, but it stands on it's own well enough. This would be easy to modify with mozzarella cheese instead or cheddar or whatever you like. My tastebuds are in grilled cheese heaven. Thanks for Grandma's great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I love this sandwich...I made a change in it though. I dipped both sides of the bread in the egg mix and grilled both sides lightly. Then I removed from the pan, added the cheese and grilled. Was absolutley awesome! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I just really loved the Italian flavors of this grilled cheese sandwich. It had that yummy flavor, without a bunch of work. It was a nice change to a cold sandwich or plain grilled cheese. I changed it to 2 servings and used an Italian bread. The only thing I might do next time, is to see if I can cut the egg back or thin it out a little with a tad more milk. I want the Italian flavor, it has, without too much egg taste. I am adding this to my recipe box under lunch to have again. thanks, Rae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States