Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Oh yes I have tried this recipe! Made it for my family many times! I will never bake a apple pie any other way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made this several times and my husband loves it!And it is so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjasonlane
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gigs2much
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this last night. I followed the recipe with a few changes. I have a porcelain cast iron skillet, so I used that the help with sticking. I had gala apples so I just reduced the amount of sugar. I had 4 pie crusts so I just used them all and made kind of a cobbler. Instead of layering the apples, sugar & cinnamon separately, I just mixed them all in a big bowl, then layered in the pre sugared apples. I let it bake about 1.5 hours due to the extra dough. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigs2much

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Holy Moly !! The absolute best apple pie I've ever put in my mouth. I can't wait for the opportunity to make this again. I would not recommend changing a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bighouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: China Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I would however add a little freshly ground nutmeg. I wasn't crazy about the middle crust as It is unbrowned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best & easiest pie ever! I only use about half the sugar called for because the first one was wayyy too sweet. I also added a dash of nutmeg because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luckie Meh
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this skillet apple pie today. Followed recipe except I used about 1/4 less of white sugar. I used Marie Calendar pie crusts. came out flaky, buttery, goodness. Definitely one of the more richer apple pies that i'm used to. Maybe next time I'll slice the apples a tad larger and use less sugar to suit my taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckie Meh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent but cut back on the sugar. Mine didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I must tell truth, I was really lazy and used store bought crust and canned pie filling. I also cut the brown sugar in half and used a 9 inch skillet. I was worried because the bottom crust kept sliding down the side of the pan, but it came out fine and both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States