Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
So, I had three awful looking bananas (very brown and smooshy) and thought I'd try cooking up some banana bread instead of tossing them out. My wife has a recipe that she swears by, but it's really not that good, so I wanted to try a different recipe. I tried Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread, and wow, it's the best recipe for banana bread ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Could not remember my moms recipe, i guess im getting forgetful, but this recipe was so close and was good. I added walnuts and pecans and some banana cream pudding to it. So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
The best banana bread I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 t. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I have tried so many banana bread recipes and this is by far the best. I added a little cinnamon, The recipe called for 1 1/2 cup white sugar and I used 1 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also substituted sour cream instead of the sour milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
i love this banana bread!!! i always get alot of raves! i did add walnuts to one loaf.. and chocolate chip to other loaf!! everyone that has try this love it!! i recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crane, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I agree this is the last banana bread recipe you'll ever need! Awesome! This is the 2nd time I made it. First time, I followed recipe exactly - delish. This time, I doubled recipe because I had extra bananas. I added cinnamon and nutmeg like suggested, plus walnuts and made sour milk by adding 1TBS of lemon juice to make 1/3 cup of milk. Made half of batter in 8x4 loaf pan, 1/4 into muffin tops and rest regular size muffins to which I added chocolate chips in some and oats in others. Also used white whole wheat flour to give it a little more nutrition. Delicious again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is the best banana bread Ive ever had. So moist and flavorful! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is amazing! So good. I added chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent banana bread! I had a similar recipe that I lost and this must be it. I did have to make some adaptations because I didn't have everything the recipe called for. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk. I only had 2 banana's and I recalled my old recipe using half brown and half white sugar, so I used that, too. I also added some toasted and finely chopped pecans. I did have to bake it in a 9x5 in loaf pan as there would have been too much batter for the smaller pan. This tasted just like I remember; moist with a great texture and with good banana flavor (even though I only used 2 med/large bananas) I am so glad to find this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States