Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It turned out great, used sour cream instead of sour milk, added walnuts. Only had 2 bananas so I used half a cup of crushed pinapple instead. I used only 1 cup of sugar also.(Don't like all that sugar)Made 12 muffins and a loaf of bread Perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
excellent..I ran out of sugar but had Coconut Sugar on hand and it turned out great..increased the amount of bananas to 3-1/2, also added tsp. baking powder..my son in law loved loved loved it..thanks for the delish recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was absolutely perfect! It took a little less time because I split it into two loaves. This was really good. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe!! I didn't have any sour milk so i added vinager to my milk and it turned out just fine. I also added cinnamon to the mix. Love this. I will be making this for years to come. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This bread was perfect. I did add chopped walnuts to it but I have a feeling it would have been fantastic without them. Even my extremely hard to please family member liked it! Neither too dry nor too moist, I toasted mine in my little toaster oven and topped it with a tablespoon of Nutella for a quick and tasty breakfast treat. YUM!!!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah.Hawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidrick, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. So very tasty!!! It's in my recipe box for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
my family loves this recipe, has the perfect amount of banana. We add chocolate chips just for a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is the BEST banana bread EVER!! Moist and tender on the inside and a yummy crunch crust-- and so easy to make! Thanks for the recipe -- it will be passed on down in our family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Delicious! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half teaspoon of ginger and nutmeg, and omitted the vanilla. Great, dense texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made quite a few banana bread recipes, and this one was excellent. Loved the texture--springy, not too dense or heavy. I doubled the recipe since I had so many bananas--came out great. I added chocolate chips and chopped nuts. Even tho I decreased sugar (1 cup instead of 1 1/2 cups), it was still too sweet--probably due to the addition of chocolate chips. I will decrease further next time. My changes--substituted half the butter with applesauce to decrease fat (and it still tasted moist). Used some whole wheat flour in place of the white flour (1 cup WW and 3 cups white for a double batch). For double batch, 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar. Used egg beaters instead of eggs. Added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. Added chopped nuts and chocolate chips. The only change I'd make is to decrease the sugar even more than I did...a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States