Grandma's Heavenly Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
use cream of chicken or celery soup instead of the cream of mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Wow. Good flavor. I used a mix of cheeses since I didn't have all the Swiss called for, and I didn't bother to butter the bread slices (which I cut up into 'fingers' for easier serving). Also, instead of canned cream soup I used the Cream Soup Base from this site. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used 3/4 of a loaf of french bread. I sliced it in 1" thick slices. (I think this made for a better presentation) I also used cream of chicken soup. Guests raved how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Great recipe, not the normal side dish and very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this over the holidays and at dinner I was satisfied but not overly impressed. But WOW, once reheated it was delish, so comforting. I think by myself I went through the leftovers in a matter of a couple days. I will try to make lower in fat next time and scale the servings down for a regular week night meal. You should really try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This tasted great! I think it tastes somewhat like french onion soup, without the broth of course. The only things I did differently was to use low salt soy sauce, 98 percent fat free soup, and added worchestershire sauce.( taste was still great.) As a reviewer already mentioned it would be very good as a side dish with meat---like a roast...I will make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was a great side dish. It does taste like french onion soup. Next time I will cut the recipe in half or try freezing half of it. It makes a ton. I used fat free cream of mushroom soup, low sodium soy sauce and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Appearance-wise, this looked a little mushy but taste-wise, this was amazing! I used rye bread as that was what I had and what I needed to use up. Cream of chicken was also all I had on hand. I had some leftover rice and poured some of this over it and it was good! Easy and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was awesome! It was so creamy and wonderful! I will certainly make this again. My family scarfed it up, they are picky some times. It was easy too. My only mistake was I bought bakery bread, and I think sliced bread would have fit/presented better in the pan. But, I just cut it to fit and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this for 15 people for Christmas Dinner. It was a big hit. I cooked the onions in olive oil, added a bit of fat free butter spray, used a combination of skim milk and fat free half and half, fat free cream of mushroom soup and fat free swiss cheese slices. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States