Grandma's Heavenly Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I've had this recipe for a few years and I love it. It is a great compliment to any roast meal and especially nice for the holidays. If you aren't into butter, sautee the onions in olive oil and omit buttering the bread. It still comes out great. Evaperated milk (low fat or regular) compliments the sweetness of the onions. I have also used different creamed soups...cream of onion is really nice...and substituted worchestershire for the soy sauce. Sprinkle a little more swiss cheese for the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Wow. Good flavor. I used a mix of cheeses since I didn't have all the Swiss called for, and I didn't bother to butter the bread slices (which I cut up into 'fingers' for easier serving). Also, instead of canned cream soup I used the Cream Soup Base from this site. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was a great side dish. It does taste like french onion soup. Next time I will cut the recipe in half or try freezing half of it. It makes a ton. I used fat free cream of mushroom soup, low sodium soy sauce and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Heavenly is right Meli! My only change was using buttered bread crumbs as a topping instead of the Italian bread. Added some garlic powder and black pepper to the onions as they sauteed. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used 3/4 of a loaf of french bread. I sliced it in 1" thick slices. (I think this made for a better presentation) I also used cream of chicken soup. Guests raved how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this for 15 people for Christmas Dinner. It was a big hit. I cooked the onions in olive oil, added a bit of fat free butter spray, used a combination of skim milk and fat free half and half, fat free cream of mushroom soup and fat free swiss cheese slices. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I always try the recipe 'as written' before presuming to review it. This was really good.. well received by myelf, my husband and grown son. It was a very satisfying side dish with our pork roast. The next time I made it I tweaked it..with... sourdough bread instead of italian, 3 sweet onions and 1 large red onion, 1/2 provolone and 1/2 swiss for the cheese..plus 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper, 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme and a splash of balsamic vinegar in the soup mixture. It was extremely good too. Different 'notes' to experience between the two versions. Loved them both. Still have not found my perfect tear free way of dealing with the onions tho. Anyway, great recipe! Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this over the holidays and at dinner I was satisfied but not overly impressed. But WOW, once reheated it was delish, so comforting. I think by myself I went through the leftovers in a matter of a couple days. I will try to make lower in fat next time and scale the servings down for a regular week night meal. You should really try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Use onion soup instead of mushroom and it was good i need to brown the onions more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
use cream of chicken or celery soup instead of the cream of mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States