Grandma's Heavenly Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
use cream of chicken or celery soup instead of the cream of mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Wow. Good flavor. I used a mix of cheeses since I didn't have all the Swiss called for, and I didn't bother to butter the bread slices (which I cut up into 'fingers' for easier serving). Also, instead of canned cream soup I used the Cream Soup Base from this site. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Appearance-wise, this looked a little mushy but taste-wise, this was amazing! I used rye bread as that was what I had and what I needed to use up. Cream of chicken was also all I had on hand. I had some leftover rice and poured some of this over it and it was good! Easy and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Heavenly is right Meli! My only change was using buttered bread crumbs as a topping instead of the Italian bread. Added some garlic powder and black pepper to the onions as they sauteed. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was a great side dish. It does taste like french onion soup. Next time I will cut the recipe in half or try freezing half of it. It makes a ton. I used fat free cream of mushroom soup, low sodium soy sauce and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This tasted great! I think it tastes somewhat like french onion soup, without the broth of course. The only things I did differently was to use low salt soy sauce, 98 percent fat free soup, and added worchestershire sauce.( taste was still great.) As a reviewer already mentioned it would be very good as a side dish with meat---like a roast...I will make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this over the holidays and at dinner I was satisfied but not overly impressed. But WOW, once reheated it was delish, so comforting. I think by myself I went through the leftovers in a matter of a couple days. I will try to make lower in fat next time and scale the servings down for a regular week night meal. You should really try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Great recipe, not the normal side dish and very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I've had this recipe for a few years and I love it. It is a great compliment to any roast meal and especially nice for the holidays. If you aren't into butter, sautee the onions in olive oil and omit buttering the bread. It still comes out great. Evaperated milk (low fat or regular) compliments the sweetness of the onions. I have also used different creamed soups...cream of onion is really nice...and substituted worchestershire for the soy sauce. Sprinkle a little more swiss cheese for the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Carr Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States