Grandma's Heavenly Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have always used cream of chicken soup. Everyone raves about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Just ok. Made as a side dish for Thanksgiving. My dad really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Scratched on the butter and used whole wheat bread, added peas (yummy!), and made a half batch in about 2/3 of the oven time recommended. Was sensational regarding how many "healthy" short-cuts I took. It was perfect for something to whip up as a busy student in college on nights that I'm going veggie. Having the swiss cheese char in the oven added a remarkable flavor profile and I will be adding more chopped veggies in there next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC recipe. I served this as a side with steak and ribs on the grill. It disappeared in no time and got rave reviews. I caramelized the onions, used cream of celery soup and a small baguette for the bread. Made it three days ahead and let it sit in the fridge until I was ready to cook it. An easy make-ahead that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Use onion soup instead of mushroom and it was good i need to brown the onions more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I always try the recipe 'as written' before presuming to review it. This was really good.. well received by myelf, my husband and grown son. It was a very satisfying side dish with our pork roast. The next time I made it I tweaked it..with... sourdough bread instead of italian, 3 sweet onions and 1 large red onion, 1/2 provolone and 1/2 swiss for the cheese..plus 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper, 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme and a splash of balsamic vinegar in the soup mixture. It was extremely good too. Different 'notes' to experience between the two versions. Loved them both. Still have not found my perfect tear free way of dealing with the onions tho. Anyway, great recipe! Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this for 15 people for Christmas Dinner. It was a big hit. I cooked the onions in olive oil, added a bit of fat free butter spray, used a combination of skim milk and fat free half and half, fat free cream of mushroom soup and fat free swiss cheese slices. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used 3/4 of a loaf of french bread. I sliced it in 1" thick slices. (I think this made for a better presentation) I also used cream of chicken soup. Guests raved how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was awesome! It was so creamy and wonderful! I will certainly make this again. My family scarfed it up, they are picky some times. It was easy too. My only mistake was I bought bakery bread, and I think sliced bread would have fit/presented better in the pan. But, I just cut it to fit and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this as "something different" for Christmas this past year. It didn't go over very well because it didn't look that great, and I have so much to choose from at Christmas. It tasted pretty good--maybe a little salty and a little mushy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States