Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
At last, the trick to hash browns that are crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. A great basic recipe that you can alter in any way--the timing on boiling the potatoes was just about right. The only thing is you don't have to cool overnight (though it's probably easier); I stuck them in the fridge for just a couple hours and they were firm enough to shred. I followed everyone's advice and added a bit of oil to my butter. I didn't even need to add salt or pepper; they were perfect with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIMMETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I feel so cool now that I'm in the 'I-know-how-to-make-homemade-hashbrowns-that-aren't-slimey-and/or-grey' club. So, this is the secret: parboiling and refrigeration. These were perfect; I'll never buy store-bought hashbrowns again. Thanks Denyse's Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
What a fab way to start a saturday morning.. delicious and simple. I added some chives for extra flavour and next time i will probably add an egg as i found them a little crumbly. will definatly make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Very simple, delicious recipe. I would also recommend adding a bit of oil to the butter to keep it from burning. Also, when it came time to flip the hash browns, I placed a large plate over the frying pan, turned the pan upside down, and then slid the hash browns back into the pan. Worked great and it came out in one, lovely, crispy, brown piece. While it's hard not to peek, keeping the hash browns on the first side for at least 15-20 does make a huge difference in the amount of crispiness you will achieve. Super recipe! Thanks, Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I like to add onions to my hash browns. Saute a handful of chopped onion in a teaspoon of oil while grating the potato. Adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This is such a nice simple recipe, but not many folks are aware of the trick... The cooking & cooling of the potatoes prior to shredding is "The Bomb". It gives them just the right consistensy. I vote for Butter over oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
My grandmother used to make these when I was little. I always enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have tried many ways of cooking hash browns. Pre-cooking (instead of rinsing, drying etc.) and letting chill overnight made a great difference. An important thing is not to overcook. You want them to be tender but not falling apart; to shred better. I don't think it is neccesary to add oil, if you brown/crisp LONG ENOUGH before turning. I start out on medium-high heat then turn heat down to med, as soon as they start to brown. Then cook for about *20* minutes on ONE side, THEN TURN. I also like to "cut" (with the spatula) into serving size pieces prior to turning. I sometimes use another buttered pan to finish the other side (more room to turn). FYI; If you "press" down the potatoes at first, and brown/crisp for a long time, cut into serving sizes, they freeze well for reheating in the toaster later. Thank you, Denyse, for sharing. I prefer feeding my family *homemade* to oily, store bought with added preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
These are great. I always add a little oil to keep the butter from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This worked well for breakfast. I confess, I did still fry these in a few TBLS of heated veg oil, but then, halfway through cooking, I melted the butter the recipe requires and poured it over the hashbrowns right before flipping them. Turned out nice, crispy brown and they had plenty of taste. Went well with our quiche! Thanks Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States