Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Easy, yummy recipe. I used 2 cans of whole beets, quartered them for recipe. I used 1/2 cup sugar and cider vinegar, added a little cinnamon & cloves, and just a little of the beet juice as the cider vinegar made the sauce a funny brown color. The sauce thickened right up, and I only cooked the beets for about 10 minutes in the sauce (they just need to be heated, really.) Serving with the cauliflower pie with potato crust for dinner tonight (recipe also on this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Took this recipe to a church dinner today. It was a hit! This is my new go-to recipe for beets. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I wonder if the amount of sugar called for in this receipe is correct I found it far too sweet - added more vinegar and beet juice and it turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I never liked beets, but because my husband does, I tried this recipe. They were GREAT! Now I plan to make them again for our Church Supper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is what you are thinking of when you think of old fashioned pickled beets. I find them a little too sweet, hence the 4 stars, but other than that, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving as a treat for my husband, my mother, and my grandmother. They raved over them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe going to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. Just make sure you start it ahead of time because it is a little time consuming. But the vinegar adds just the right tang to beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Pam, Those are the best! I'm putting them on the Thanksgiving menu thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe, but instead of using water, I use the juice the canned beets are packed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States