Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is the same recipe my grandmother and mother used. It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great way to introduce beets to anyone. Made as written. And it is wonderful tasting. Sweet and sour at its best. I will cut down on sugar the next time to tweak to my taste. I am making this ahead of my Easter dinner and it will be in fridge for a couple of days and I think it will add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Tried for first time and really liked it - will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Recipe is very good. I use fresh beets or ones that I canned from last summer. The only thing I do different is I add a little bit of cinnamon. That was my mom's favorite way of making them. the rest of the recipe is the same as my MOMS. Her 93rd birthday is today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
it was great, but diabetics, beware!!!either cut the sugar to 1/3 cut, or use a sugar sub!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I had already boiled fresh beets and was looking for something to jazz them up a little. This was exactly what I was looking for. I had red wine vinegar on hand and used a little less sugar, otherwise followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is very good. I added a pinch of fresh nutmeg to it as I find nutmeg enhances the flavor of many vegetables if you only use a pinch. The grandma who made this recipe knew her business in the kitchen. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These truly are excellent! I thought there wasn't enough liquid, so added a little bit from the can, but I was wrong. I'll trust Grandma next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I just made these beets and I can't wait to eat them! I had them over Thanksgiving from my father in law who is a respectable chef in the area. and his are wonderful - these are better!! Kudos to the suggestion of adding a couple of cloves and cinnamon and less sugar. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Cooked exactly to the recipe and these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States