Grandma's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This was a great way to use leftover ham. I did not have mushroom soup so I used half-fat celery soup and it was just fine. I used more potatoes and carrots than called for and I added about 1/4 tsp pepper. My whole family really liked it, including two picky eaters aged 5 and 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Adjust the water depending on the number of spuds used. Needs to be spiced up with Salsa or some such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Since we enjoy onions with scalloped potatoes, I added thinly sliced onions to this casserole; also added freshly ground black pepper to taste. We LOVED it and I'm looking forward to a covered dish supper to take it to!! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My husband loved his. He said it was the most yummiest thing I've made in a long time. I'll definately make it again. I actually used more potatoes, and 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup along with about 3/4 can water of each. I used healthy request soup. I sprinkled salt, pepper, and onion powder over the potatoes and carrots. I didn't use mushrooms as I didn't have any on hand. I couldn't help thinking there was something missing so I added about a cup of the "French's" Durkee Fried Onions (the kind you put in green bean casserole), and I really think it made all the difference. I cooked it for about 2 hours uncovered. I'll will most certainly make this again. It was one of the easiest things I've ever done. Clean up was a snap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I thought this was a great recipe for leftover ham. It had all the different flavors of the ingredients which made it very tasty. It was also quick to prepare. I used a 4 oz. can of mushrooms and thought that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Thank you Judy for this recipe. What a great idea for left over ham. I added some peas, salt and pepper to the recipe! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe was yummy!!! I don't care for mushrooms, and only added one 4 oz can. In addition I substituted milk for water, add some frozen peas, salt and pepper and a sprinkle of worcestershire. I am not the cook in our house, but my hubby just loved it! I did too! Thanks for a simple, easy recipe that tastes soooooo good! LAY A PIECE OF FOIL OVER TOP OF PAN DURING LAST HALF HOUR TO KEEP HAM FROM DRYING OUT! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
EASY! Great way to use leftover ham. I added salt, pepper and celery seed and a can of cream of celery soup and took it to a church supper. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I wanted a good recipe for the leftover Christmas ham, and this is the one! I use low-sodium cream of mushroom soup (ham is salty enough) and 1/2 can cream of onion soup, mixed with 1 cup light sour cream. I used canned carrots and added canned peas and boiled my sliced potatoes for 10 min before baking- this way cook time was reduced to 30 minutes : ) I added shredding sharp chedder cheese and french fried onions to the top for the last 10 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This recipe is one of my favorite childhood meals that I still make today. Only variation is that we never added water, but did add corn, a little cheese on top and crushed crackers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States