Grandma's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made a few modifications to this recipe, and it turned out great. I upped the ham to 2 cups, used tator tots instead of the sliced potatoes, omitted the carrots, and used more mushrooms. I also used milk instead of water, and added dashes of worchestershire, celery salt, garlic powder and onion powder, and a bit of salt and pepper. I covered the casserole for the first 40 minutes, then I uncovered it for another 15. At that point I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and baked for about 5 more minutes. Nest time I think i'll add some finely chopped onions. I think this is a good basic recipe, with your own flavorful additions it'll turn out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I took the advice of others on this and came out with an all around good recipe. I did not add the canned mushrooms. I put 2 cups of ham and could have used more. I cut out the water and used 1/2 cup milk . I used garlic powder and ground pepper to taste. I added 1 teaspoon of worchester sauce and a 1/2 a cup mozzarella cheese. It took an hour and a half to cook and my family enjoyed it. I did not cover it. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My husband loved his. He said it was the most yummiest thing I've made in a long time. I'll definately make it again. I actually used more potatoes, and 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup along with about 3/4 can water of each. I used healthy request soup. I sprinkled salt, pepper, and onion powder over the potatoes and carrots. I didn't use mushrooms as I didn't have any on hand. I couldn't help thinking there was something missing so I added about a cup of the "French's" Durkee Fried Onions (the kind you put in green bean casserole), and I really think it made all the difference. I cooked it for about 2 hours uncovered. I'll will most certainly make this again. It was one of the easiest things I've ever done. Clean up was a snap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Okay, here are my modifications to this recipe. It is a good recipe to feed a crowd (I have a family of six). I doubled the ham, doubled the carrots and used two cans of soup - yet only 1 can of milk. Be careful as it will overflow in the oven, and be sure to season and this recipe calls for no salt or pepper which would leave any recipe bland. Good luch! My group liked this recipe and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I thought the dish was very good, but did not think elegant would describe it and I think 4 servings would be closer than 6. I will definitely make it again when I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Since we enjoy onions with scalloped potatoes, I added thinly sliced onions to this casserole; also added freshly ground black pepper to taste. We LOVED it and I'm looking forward to a covered dish supper to take it to!! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
EASY! Great way to use leftover ham. I added salt, pepper and celery seed and a can of cream of celery soup and took it to a church supper. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This was a great way to use leftover ham. I did not have mushroom soup so I used half-fat celery soup and it was just fine. I used more potatoes and carrots than called for and I added about 1/4 tsp pepper. My whole family really liked it, including two picky eaters aged 5 and 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I wanted a good recipe for the leftover Christmas ham, and this is the one! I use low-sodium cream of mushroom soup (ham is salty enough) and 1/2 can cream of onion soup, mixed with 1 cup light sour cream. I used canned carrots and added canned peas and boiled my sliced potatoes for 10 min before baking- this way cook time was reduced to 30 minutes : ) I added shredding sharp chedder cheese and french fried onions to the top for the last 10 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was a nice use for leftover ham. I added only 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery, and followed the advice of others on substituted the water for milk. I left the mushrooms out. I also increased the ham to 2 cups. I topped it with salt, pepper, and paprika and added some french fried onions in the last 15 minutes. I baked for around 2 hours total. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States