Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I'm a Navy Wife living in Japan and teach American style cooking to three Japanese ladies and they loved this recipe. It was fast and easy. A nice change from the mushroom soup type casseroles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
My entire family LOVED this casserole. Even my neice who is a very picky eater. She didn't want any one to eat it so she could have it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This was absolutley delicious. The cheese made a "crust" on the top the first time I made it, however, so I mix the cheese in with the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
This recipe was fantastic -- I mixed the cheese in with the beans, and added 1 clove of garlic in with the crackers and butter -- YUMMY ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
My better half loves Green Bean Casserole. I used this recipe and gave it a little variation of my own, and he flipped over it. Instead of using chopped onion, I thinly sliced the onion and baked it in the oven until crispy. I then topped the casserole with them. I also used the buttery round crackers and just loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This recipe was fantastic. I brought it to our Canadian Thanksgiving dinner received at my in laws and everyone was so impressed including my discriminating father in law. The only thing I did differently was added a few more onions and at the request of another person, mixed the cheese to the beans instead of putting it on top. I made it for 12 servings instead of the original 8. It was a huge success! I will be making it for Christmas as well. Thank you! Also note: I wanted this recipe to be low carbohydrate as well...so I eliminated the flour and crackers and it still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
I made this last Sunday. It was a big hit with everyone. Instead of putting all the cheese on top, I mixed half in with the casserole and put the rest on top. It is the best green bean casserole I have found. Thanks, Amy,for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I totally agree, this recipe is REALLY good! I added extra onions, and I loved it, but my husband, who is less of an onion fan, suggested I lighten up on them. But despite that, he really liked it. And believe everyone else, you should absolutely mix the cheese in and then sprinkle extra on top. This dish is rich, tasty, and will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Very good and very easy! I left out the onions for my onion-hating husband and added some mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I liked this recipe and enjoyed making it. I'm not a great cook, so the easiness was appreciated. I did have to add some extra butter to my crackers, though...they were pretty dry with the amount suggested above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States