Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe hands down beats your average "green bean casserole" with canned mushroom soup. I used fresh green beans, boiled them till they were barely tender, also sautéed the onion in olive oil, I also added about 1/3 of the cheese to the bean/sour cream mixture, and I topped it with the crackers and a can of fried onions. It turned out superb, everyone loved it!!! I think next time I will try it with jack or Swiss cheese, because the sharpness if the cheddar cheese kind of took over the dish, but it was still great. I made mine the day before, took it out and let it get to room temp that morning, and just added the topping before I put it in the oven to save time on thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Yum, yum, yum! Based on other reviews, I used fresh green beans and steamed them beforehand. I also sauteed the onions first. This was much better than cream of mushroom soup green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe as written - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe stated minus 1/4 tsp. of the salt. All 3 members of my family didn't like it. They said there was way too much sour cream. I am a vegan so I didn't try any but decided to make it again using vegan sour cream and cheese. I didn't mind it but I did feel that it called for too much sour cream. If I make this again I will omit the sour cream and use almond milk to make a basic white sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
For some reason, I thought this would be similar to the "original" green bean casserole. It's not even close. First off, the sour cream overpowers the dish - that's pretty much all I could taste. Then the shredded cheese is on top and pretty much melts on the top area. And the round cracker & butter topping - ick! I will NOT be making this ever again. . Nothing to write home about. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Excellent! I hate mushrooms, so I never like the "traditional" green bean casserole. I made this for thanksgiving and my niece and nephew were fighting over who got the last spoonful and my brother asked me to make some more to have with leftovers. I did do a couple of tweaks... I sauteed the onions in the butter a bit before adding the flour, used frozen instead of canned green beans, mixed some of the cheese in with the GB mixture instead of putting it all on top and used panko bread crumbs instead of crackers. I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was well-received although it didn't get raves. It is definitely superior to that canned soup and fried onion variety! Easy to make and I will do it again, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Never been a fan of the cream of mushroom soup version and not a fan of this one either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I hate regular green bean cassarole but I loved this. I used fresh green beans, caramelized the onions, used Swiss cheese and French fried onions. Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this twice for the holidays. Comes out great. I love that i does not use the canned mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States