Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have never eaten or made Greenbean casserole, Everyone I know loves it and gave me the standard French Onion Mushroom Soup Recipe. As badly as I've always wanted to try Green Bean Casserole the thought of French Onions always made me cringe. Then I found this Perfect Recipe, this Dish was a HUGE hit at my Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it said it was the best they have ever had and could not believe it was my first time making the dish. This dish will always have a place at my Table, it has actually replaced macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Yogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving dinner 2014. It was a hit! Even those that don't like the French onion/cream of mushroom version were very pleased with it. Thought I might get seconds, but it was gone before half time. GREAT RECIPE! I prepped it the night before and let it set in the fridge before the final bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan L. Conrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes ! I love green bean casserole and gave this a try and it's a Far cry better than the cream of mushroom soup/ fried onion variety. The flavor was fantastic, and even those that don't like the typical green bean casserole really liked this recipe. No Tweaks Necessary, recipe is great as it comes! This one is my keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have had my eye on this recipe for years, and finally decided to try it for Thanksgiving this year, rather than the standard cream of mushroom soup recipe I always make. I really liked this! I thought it was better! I made a few changes, per our family's taste. I sauteed the onion in the butter, because I don't like crunchy onion. I also added some black pepper and garlic powder to the sauce. I mixed half of the cheese into the casserole, as I always do in my regular recipe. And green bean casserole is not the same, to me, without the french fried onions. So, I mixed some into the casserole, as well as crush some into the cracker crumb crust. My 8 year old daughter loved it and gobbled it up! If I hadn't been so full after my first helping, I would have eaten seconds, and I know what I'm eating for lunch tomorrow! One thing to note for next time: I don't think it needs as much salt, so I will try using half the amount next time, but that may be because of my addition of the fried onions, which are salty anyway. In my regular recipe I also like to include water chestnuts, and I will try that next time. I loved the addition of the garlic powder, and next time I will be sure to have enough fresh garlic that I can use that instead and saute with the onion (I used the last of mine in our mashed potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was pretty good, but I suggest a little less sour cream and mixing half the cheese with the green beans as opposed to all on top. Was a Thanksgiving hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was best green bean caserole I ever had. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. My brother-in-law stated it was the 'surprise hit of the evening'. Turns out he had taken some just to be polite but ended up eating seconds. I wasn't sure I'd like the combination of green beans and cheese but it was delicious! I did as some others suggested and mixed half of the cheese in with the beans and put the remaining on top. It was perfect and the one side I wish I would have doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bezue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Tried this for Thanksgiving dinner, using the suggestions of others to saute the onions in the butter at the beginning. It was delicious, the family loved it. This is my new go-to "holiday" green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Muah.... EVERY SINGLE TIME.... MUAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States