Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have had my eye on this recipe for years, and finally decided to try it for Thanksgiving this year, rather than the standard cream of mushroom soup recipe I always make. I really liked this! I thought it was better! I made a few changes, per our family's taste. I sauteed the onion in the butter, because I don't like crunchy onion. I also added some black pepper and garlic powder to the sauce. I mixed half of the cheese into the casserole, as I always do in my regular recipe. And green bean casserole is not the same, to me, without the french fried onions. So, I mixed some into the casserole, as well as crush some into the cracker crumb crust. My 8 year old daughter loved it and gobbled it up! If I hadn't been so full after my first helping, I would have eaten seconds, and I know what I'm eating for lunch tomorrow! One thing to note for next time: I don't think it needs as much salt, so I will try using half the amount next time, but that may be because of my addition of the fried onions, which are salty anyway. In my regular recipe I also like to include water chestnuts, and I will try that next time. I loved the addition of the garlic powder, and next time I will be sure to have enough fresh garlic that I can use that instead and saute with the onion (I used the last of mine in our mashed potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was pretty good, but I suggest a little less sour cream and mixing half the cheese with the green beans as opposed to all on top. Was a Thanksgiving hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was best green bean caserole I ever had. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. My brother-in-law stated it was the 'surprise hit of the evening'. Turns out he had taken some just to be polite but ended up eating seconds. I wasn't sure I'd like the combination of green beans and cheese but it was delicious! I did as some others suggested and mixed half of the cheese in with the beans and put the remaining on top. It was perfect and the one side I wish I would have doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bezue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Tried this for Thanksgiving dinner, using the suggestions of others to saute the onions in the butter at the beginning. It was delicious, the family loved it. This is my new go-to "holiday" green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Muah.... EVERY SINGLE TIME.... MUAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jossy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
love this recipe everyone loves it when I make it. the only different thing I do is I add French's rench fried onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jossy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Did not care for the sour cream taste. Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Make this every year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States