Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I just made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! There was nothing left. I did as everyone else suggested and sauteed the onions first. I also used fresh green beans and steamed them. I even made this a few days before Thanksgiving and froze it. I thawed it 24 hours in advance and then popped it in the oven to reheat--sprinkled French's crunchy onions on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i had high hopes for this, but it just didn't deliver. nothing impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Different from your typical green been casserole. Was a nice change and a hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kepolanani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Outstanding! I used Trader Joe's frozen haricort vert, roasted corn and added sliced crimini mushrooms sauteed with onions. It was the best "traditional" Thanksgiving veggie casserole ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good. Will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is exactly the same recipe that I have been making for years and my kids always ask for it. Only two differences: We call it "Gran's Green Bean Casserole" and instead of crumbled crackers we use Special K cereal. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving because I don't like the kind with mushroom soup but was asked to bring green bean casserole. Followed others' suggestions to sauté onions and lightly steam fresh green beans first. Also added 3 turns of cracked pepper and 3/4 tsp garlic. The only change I would make next time would be to add more green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My family and guests loved this dish! I did follow the advice of others and saute the onions, reduce the sour cream to 3/4 cup, and reduce the cheese to 1 1/2 cup. Also, mixing 1/2 the cheese in with the green beans did seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole with canned french fried onions and canned soup. I tried it almost exactly as written, except I used frozen green bea. I think that using frozen or fresh green beans also improves the flavor over canned. Actually, I made one more substitution, based on what I had on hand: I used bread crumbs coated with butter instead of the crackers. I was surprised that even the small amount of sugar in the recipe added a hint of sweetness that was both subtle and interesting. As others have mentioned, the result is a bit thick, so I added a little of the water in which the green beans had been steamed to thin the white sauce (since it is made with sour cream rather than milk, the dominant flavor is still that of white sauce made with milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
YUM! I brought this side dish to my daughter's first Thanksgiving dinner in her new home. It came out so much better than using condensed soup for the sauce! I did saute the onions in the butter before adding the flour, and added a little pepper for my own taste. Everyone enjoyed the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States