Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Did not care for the sour cream taste. Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Make this every year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the only GBC you should ever make! I don't use the onions most of the time b/c usually I'm running late and they give me headaches. I just use French fried onions on the top (if the onions are cooked, I don't get a headache. Migraine trigger.) When I use the onions on top, I don't use the butter crackers. Also one of my best friends is gluten free, so the last time I made this I just excluded the flour and it worked just fine. I make it with fresh green beans as well. I love this recipe b/c it doesn't have cream of mushroom soup in it so it's easily turned into a completely healthy, organic side dish. Sour cream = good fats! (Made from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is basically how I have made my green bean casserole for a number of years with just a few slight changes. When you use canned green beans they are salty enough to omit the salt in the roux. Also, instead of the white flour, I use whole wheat flour and it gives it a little bit of a nutty flavor. I am asked to bring it to Thanksgiving every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Easy to follow looks delicious ....I'll know tomorrow at thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Weis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was awesome last year. This year I revised it just to be different. In stead of fresh onions, I used 6oz of French's Fried Onions, reserving1/2c for casserole topping. Added 4oz cream cheese. Added 1c shredded cheddar cheese. Added 1 can each of cream of chicken condensed soup and cream of celery condensed soup. Added 3c chicken broth (I use coffee water with bullion cubes or paste). I mixed all ingredients except the 1/2c fried onions, which I put on top of the casserole before baking. My clan loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I read most of the reviews before I made it. Cooked onions first, otherwise followed the recipe. Really good as I don't care for mushroom soup variety. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vincent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use whole green beans and mushrooms and leave off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine Michael
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
So I was a little lazy when it came to this recipe so instead of making the roux and adding in the sour cream I used a can of cream of mushroom soup so that the casserole would be think still. I also wanted the French fried onions that were nearly impossible to find (I should have known lol) so I substituted them for the cracker crumbs. All and all I turned this into a delicious Frankenstein of a green bean casserole and I think it turned out really well. Either way, seeing as this recipe was the main inspiration I thought it necessary to rate it very highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Michael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States