Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is going to become a regular dish in my kitchen. Very easy to make, and a big hit with my holiday guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My friends and family enjoyed this recipe with a couple of changes and additions. Since there was no seasoning I added some and made a few other changes. First of all, I parboiled two 16-oz. small bags of cut green beans instead of using the canned green beans. I sautéed the onion in the butter before adding the flour. I also added the following the sauce: approximately ½ cup of half n half, 1/8 tsp. garlic granules, ¼ tsp. Mrs. Dash Tableblend seasoning and 1/8 tsp. ground pepper. Overall this is a good recipe that you can start with and twist to satisfy your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coug Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JB68711
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
After reading the reviews, I thought "why not try something new?" It was great and I love that it holds together and isn't soupy like the usual green bean casserole. I did everything as directed, except a couple of things: I sliced the onions (instead of diced) and I let them cook a bit before I added the sour cream to the skillet. I eyeballed how much cheese I put on top, but it definitely wasn't 2 cups (maybe 1 cup). And I left some bigger pieces of crackers instead of crumbling it all. Other than that, I folowed as directed. *Keep in mind, while this makes 10 servings, the dish was finished by 5 people. We had it alongside ham and 2 other delicious sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving, then again for Christmas Eve with some slight changes the second time around and it was perfect. Definitely sauté the onion in the butter first. I also reduced the cheese to 1 cup and incorporated half of that to the green bean mix and then sprinkled the rest on top. And lastly, added about 3/4 of a can of French fried onions to the cracker/butter topping. My mother in law was just raving about it and thats a huge compliment coming from the best cook I know. Thank you, Amy for getting us hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Was a bit sceptical of this at first, but am very glad we tried it!! I'm not a fan of cream of mushroom soup, so was happy to find this recipe. The only thing I may try different next time is adding some of those crunchy onion things!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was a hit at Thanksgiving. Used fresh green beans & added 2 cloves minced fresh garlic. I mixed in 1 cup of the cheese with the mixture, than added the other cup on top. This is by far the best green bean casserole I have had & it will become a staple at all future Thanksgiving dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was okay, on the bland side, except it tastes sour because of sour cream. It was fairly good, but then anything with this much fat tastes good without being too artful. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this casserole for company a few weeks ago. They loved it and took home some of the leftovers, as it made more than we needed! I am also making it as a side for my Christmas dinner. You can prepare it ahead of time and then throw it in the oven for half an hour while your turkey is resting and then being carved! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love the traditional cream of mushroom soup recipe, but this was even better! It was easy to do and didn't take too long either. I will definitely make this version of green bean casserole from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
A surprise hit at Thanksgiving! It didn't really look like anything special to be honest, but when my guests got a taste, they all loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. Loved the sour-cream and buttery flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States