Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving dinner 2014. It was a hit! Even those that don't like the French onion/cream of mushroom version were very pleased with it. Thought I might get seconds, but it was gone before half time. GREAT RECIPE! I prepped it the night before and let it set in the fridge before the final bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan L. Conrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes ! I love green bean casserole and gave this a try and it's a Far cry better than the cream of mushroom soup/ fried onion variety. The flavor was fantastic, and even those that don't like the typical green bean casserole really liked this recipe. No Tweaks Necessary, recipe is great as it comes! This one is my keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have had my eye on this recipe for years, and finally decided to try it for Thanksgiving this year, rather than the standard cream of mushroom soup recipe I always make. I really liked this! I thought it was better! I made a few changes, per our family's taste. I sauteed the onion in the butter, because I don't like crunchy onion. I also added some black pepper and garlic powder to the sauce. I mixed half of the cheese into the casserole, as I always do in my regular recipe. And green bean casserole is not the same, to me, without the french fried onions. So, I mixed some into the casserole, as well as crush some into the cracker crumb crust. My 8 year old daughter loved it and gobbled it up! If I hadn't been so full after my first helping, I would have eaten seconds, and I know what I'm eating for lunch tomorrow! One thing to note for next time: I don't think it needs as much salt, so I will try using half the amount next time, but that may be because of my addition of the fried onions, which are salty anyway. In my regular recipe I also like to include water chestnuts, and I will try that next time. I loved the addition of the garlic powder, and next time I will be sure to have enough fresh garlic that I can use that instead and saute with the onion (I used the last of mine in our mashed potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was pretty good, but I suggest a little less sour cream and mixing half the cheese with the green beans as opposed to all on top. Was a Thanksgiving hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was best green bean caserole I ever had. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. My brother-in-law stated it was the 'surprise hit of the evening'. Turns out he had taken some just to be polite but ended up eating seconds. I wasn't sure I'd like the combination of green beans and cheese but it was delicious! I did as some others suggested and mixed half of the cheese in with the beans and put the remaining on top. It was perfect and the one side I wish I would have doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bezue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Tried this for Thanksgiving dinner, using the suggestions of others to saute the onions in the butter at the beginning. It was delicious, the family loved it. This is my new go-to "holiday" green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's a good meal, however it does not live up to the hype. I mean the crumble crackers makes it taste really good, however just the green beans alone were bland, even with the sour cream and onion. I guess if you want to cook something "safe" this is a good option, however don't expect to treat your pallet to anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Muah.... EVERY SINGLE TIME.... MUAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States