Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love the traditional cream of mushroom soup recipe, but this was even better! It was easy to do and didn't take too long either. I will definitely make this version of green bean casserole from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
A surprise hit at Thanksgiving! It didn't really look like anything special to be honest, but when my guests got a taste, they all loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. Loved the sour-cream and buttery flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I tried to make this and realized I had run out of most of the ingredients, so I improvised. Even with my failure to have the right ingredients, it was very good. I added garlic with the onions which I cooked before adding the flour. I didn't have sour cream, so I used half milk and half cream cheese. The cream cheese made it divine. Even with all my substitutions it was very good and as soon as I make it with butter and some cheddar, I'm sure it will be fantastic. I do have to recommend adding garlic and cream cheese for a little extra flavor. The melted butter (or oil) over the topping makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Okay, I have a confession. I've been making this casserole for at least 4 years and I still haven't left a review. So, as I am compiling my grocery list to make this for TWO potlucks this week, I felt like it was time. This is my FAVORITE green bean casserole. I have never been a fan of cream of mushroom soup so this was always on the bottom of the list to make or eat during the holidays. Now, I make it ALL the time! After 4 years, I've tweaked the recipe just a bit to my liking but the base recipe is still delicious! I saute the onion for 3-5 minutes and toss in some fresh minced garlic for the last 30 seconds or so before I make the roux. I mix about 2/3 of the cheese in with the green beans mixture. After topping with the rest of the cheese and the cracker mixture, I add some crispy fried shallots. There are NEVER leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Tasted really good, but lacked in presentation - everyone thought this was some kind of dessert dish so passed it by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My family loves this recipe, we followed momma_s recommendations of Reducing sour cream to 3/4c, reduce salt to 1/2 tsp, add fresh cracked black pepper, and 1&1/2 tsp garlic powder with the salt & sugar. Large can of French fried onions and mix 1/4-1/2 can into beans, the rest crush with the cracker topping and extra melted butter. Mixed ahead of time until ready to go into the oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I was not overwhelmed by this recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I tried this off of the reviews alone and have to say it was definitely not what I had in mind. I guess I'll stick to the cream of mushroom soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this as written the night before Thanksgiving, wrapped it tightly and kept it refrigerated. I added 15 minutes to the baking time and it came out perfectly cooked. My family loved it and asked me to make it for Christmas dinner. I will add 1 can of green beans, and some crumbled crispy French onions to the topping. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States