Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I read most of the reviews before I made it. Cooked onions first, otherwise followed the recipe. Really good as I don't care for mushroom soup variety. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vincent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use whole green beans and mushrooms and leave off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine Michael
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
So I was a little lazy when it came to this recipe so instead of making the roux and adding in the sour cream I used a can of cream of mushroom soup so that the casserole would be think still. I also wanted the French fried onions that were nearly impossible to find (I should have known lol) so I substituted them for the cracker crumbs. All and all I turned this into a delicious Frankenstein of a green bean casserole and I think it turned out really well. Either way, seeing as this recipe was the main inspiration I thought it necessary to rate it very highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Michael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Has anyone after baking this recipe, frozen it, then just reheat to serve two days later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
LOVE this recipe. I preferred the traditional french fried onions as a topping, but otherwise it is so flavorful compared to the traditional cream of mushroom casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have made this before and my family loves this. They have requested it for this Thanksgiving. I love the crunchy butter flavor of the crackers so I add just a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I followed this recipe with Momma_S's modifications, see Most Helpful Review, for the most part... I did use canned French beans as I was short on time and accidentally forgot the fried French Onions. Made this on Saturday for our 1st Frendsgiving. However, it still turned out really good! I will certainly try it with fresh beans and the fried onion rings next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My family loved this version and they normally won't touch green bean casserole. It is also great because we have family who are allergic to mushrooms and can't have the other version. I modified this recipe by dicing the onions very fine in a mini food processor so that I wouldn't have to cook them. I also used fried onions and a 1/2 cup cheese on top. I will try other posted suggestions on my next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Van

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Just tried this recipe today for our early family Thanksgiving, it was a hit! I did everything as directed, except I made my own corn bread, no mix. One mistake I did make is forgetting to omit the 1/4 cup sugar called for in the corn bread recipe. In the future I may add a tablespoon or two of sugar, but not a quarter cup. In-spite of that, the dressing was delicious! I've never had corn bread stuffing before, neither has my family (we live in WI and corn bread stuffing is not a tradition our family), but we were all pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States