Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The only changes I made to this recipe was using fresh-cut green beans (make sure you trim and blanch them) and I used Greek Yogurt instead of the sour cream. It was fantastic, definitively a do again recipe in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Rave reviews every time I made this recipe for company. Great thanks to Amy Barry for submitting this recipe. Due to an allergy I am pleased to be able to use a lactose free sour cream and gluten free bread crumbs. On my third time I omitted the flour as made it too thick. Sautéed the onions first and worked better for me. I used less cheese each time and still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Used fresh green beans the second time around, added fresh garlic, lawrys salt and was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Much better than the canned soup version, though I'd add a little milk so it's creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this at Thanksgiving and it was the only dish that was completely gone at the end of the meal. Everyone loved it so much that the next night, when we were having leftovers of everything else, we made a second round of this and there wasn't anything left of that one either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Awesome dish!! I sauteed the onions in 1 T. butter after reading other reviews. That was the only change I made, and the dish was scraped clean! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday. My only onion was bad, so I replaced the fresh onion with the canned crispy fried onion. But followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out surprisingly good. I feel it is better than when I make green bean casserole with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Best green bean casserole...hands down! Taste fresh! Not like a canned condensed soup! Made it for Thanksgiving and then again for Christmas. Even the kids loved it. For Christmas I added fried onions to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is not the way our Grandma makes this recipe but it turned out to be a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was a great dish, much better than with cream of mushroom soup. I still used fried onions for the top because the onion flavor for me is a must. It is not a dish if you hate sour cream, but if you do love it this dish is perfect. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keysgetaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States