Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving, then again for Christmas Eve with some slight changes the second time around and it was perfect. Definitely sauté the onion in the butter first. I also reduced the cheese to 1 cup and incorporated half of that to the green bean mix and then sprinkled the rest on top. And lastly, added about 3/4 of a can of French fried onions to the cracker/butter topping. My mother in law was just raving about it and thats a huge compliment coming from the best cook I know. Thank you, Amy for getting us hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Was a bit sceptical of this at first, but am very glad we tried it!! I'm not a fan of cream of mushroom soup, so was happy to find this recipe. The only thing I may try different next time is adding some of those crunchy onion things!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was a hit at Thanksgiving. Used fresh green beans & added 2 cloves minced fresh garlic. I mixed in 1 cup of the cheese with the mixture, than added the other cup on top. This is by far the best green bean casserole I have had & it will become a staple at all future Thanksgiving dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was okay, on the bland side, except it tastes sour because of sour cream. It was fairly good, but then anything with this much fat tastes good without being too artful. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this casserole for company a few weeks ago. They loved it and took home some of the leftovers, as it made more than we needed! I am also making it as a side for my Christmas dinner. You can prepare it ahead of time and then throw it in the oven for half an hour while your turkey is resting and then being carved! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love the traditional cream of mushroom soup recipe, but this was even better! It was easy to do and didn't take too long either. I will definitely make this version of green bean casserole from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
A surprise hit at Thanksgiving! It didn't really look like anything special to be honest, but when my guests got a taste, they all loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. Loved the sour-cream and buttery flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I tried to make this and realized I had run out of most of the ingredients, so I improvised. Even with my failure to have the right ingredients, it was very good. I added garlic with the onions which I cooked before adding the flour. I didn't have sour cream, so I used half milk and half cream cheese. The cream cheese made it divine. Even with all my substitutions it was very good and as soon as I make it with butter and some cheddar, I'm sure it will be fantastic. I do have to recommend adding garlic and cream cheese for a little extra flavor. The melted butter (or oil) over the topping makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Okay, I have a confession. I've been making this casserole for at least 4 years and I still haven't left a review. So, as I am compiling my grocery list to make this for TWO potlucks this week, I felt like it was time. This is my FAVORITE green bean casserole. I have never been a fan of cream of mushroom soup so this was always on the bottom of the list to make or eat during the holidays. Now, I make it ALL the time! After 4 years, I've tweaked the recipe just a bit to my liking but the base recipe is still delicious! I saute the onion for 3-5 minutes and toss in some fresh minced garlic for the last 30 seconds or so before I make the roux. I mix about 2/3 of the cheese in with the green beans mixture. After topping with the rest of the cheese and the cracker mixture, I add some crispy fried shallots. There are NEVER leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Tasted really good, but lacked in presentation - everyone thought this was some kind of dessert dish so passed it by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States