Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Everyone loved it! I just used fresh beans and steamed them for 12 minutes instead of canned beans. and added fried onions in the bean mixture, and on top before putting it to bake. Its not green bean casserole without fried onions! :) YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I grew up on green bean casserole from cream of mushroom soup & french fried onions, so I wasn't expecting to love this--but I was pleasantly surprised. I made the recipe as stated and it was delicious. You could saute the onions first, use fresh green beans, or whatever else may be your preference--but I think both of those things are unnecessary. I'm not in the business of overcomplicating if I don't need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is an all time favorite. I make it every year and everyone looks forward to it. Nothing needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious - this recipe is so wonderful and addicting. You have been warned! I sautéed the onions and didn't use as much flour (only about 1/4 Tbsp.) It turned out fantastic! I highly recommend EVERYONE to try this! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Simons

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wish this and other recipes on AllRecipes.com would roll in more fresh ingredients. I substituted a pound of snapped and blanched fresh green beans. Was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langeloro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Nom nom nom! A Thanksgiving hit! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The first time I made it I used plane yogurt instead of sour cream and honestly liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I don't like leaving bad reviews but I made this for Thanksgiving instead of the traditional mushroom soup recipe and sad to say, only one person liked it (out of 8). Admittedly I used frozen cut green beans instead of french style but it really didn't have a lot of flavor. Back to the old version that everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Turned out awesome! Listened to other people and reduced the sour cream and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I prepared this dish last night made it exactly like the recipe and the add-ons from other readers. We had a 50/50 response the main complaint was it's to salty, next time if I make it again will omit the "caned onions" change the cheese to White (yellow cheese is to salty ) omit the salt and maybe boost up the spices garlic powder other wise is was good but not a 5 stare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxy43

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States