Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I too was looking for an alternative to the classic green bean casserole. I tried it and added the black pepper and 3/4 t. garlic powder. I also added half of the cheese with the green beans and the rest on top. It was great and the only thing I would change is not adding the salt as the cheese is salty and we felt the dish was too salty as prepared, otherwise it is our new go to recipe for green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I use the same amount of green beans, but I use fresh and steam them thoroughly thru, until a brilliant green and can be stabbed with a fork, then add them to the dish. Also, I carmelize my sweet onion (which I slice into strips rather than a chop), before adding them to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Will never make "cream of" green bean casserole again! This stuff is AMAZING!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I make this every year & it is soo good! I'm just wondering if it could be made the night before then cooked the next day. Has anyone done that before? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is great! I took the suggestions of others and sauteed the onion and some minced garlic, but otherwise followed the recipe. I think the buttered crackers make all the difference. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I think it's funny how polarizing this recipe seems to be. If you love it, you REALLY love it. Those who don't, REALLY don't. Growing up I always HATED green bean casserole because it was always made with cream of whatever, but I am in love with this dish. I only make a few very minor changes based on my personal taste. I prefer to steam fresh green beans rather than using canned, I sautee the onion, I only use about a cup of cheese (and only on top), and I am obsessed with fried onions, so I put those on top instead of the crackers. Oh, and I maybe use a little less salt and add pepper. Overall, this recipe is one I look forward to having with Thanksgiving dinner every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Delish! Pretty much followed recipe, just sauteed onions on own before throwing in, used brown sugar because that what I had on hand and mixed the cheese with the green beans leaving a little to sprinkle on top at the end as suggested by previous reviewers. Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISHABEAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe! I am not a mushroom fan so I was trying to find the perfect green bean cassarole dish. Definitely saute the onions in the butter and mix the cheese in the casserole so it doesnt form a hard crust as it bakes. I am asked to bring this every Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My sons love this GB casserole so much so that they wanted it forChristmas dinner this year instead of the asparagus we usually have. I made it last at Thanksgiving last year and this and there was none left. Everyone (22 people ranging in age from 21 to 64) raved about it. I've been told that I have to bring this every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States