Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this casserole for company a few weeks ago. They loved it and took home some of the leftovers, as it made more than we needed! I am also making it as a side for my Christmas dinner. You can prepare it ahead of time and then throw it in the oven for half an hour while your turkey is resting and then being carved! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love the traditional cream of mushroom soup recipe, but this was even better! It was easy to do and didn't take too long either. I will definitely make this version of green bean casserole from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
A surprise hit at Thanksgiving! It didn't really look like anything special to be honest, but when my guests got a taste, they all loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. Loved the sour-cream and buttery flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I tried to make this and realized I had run out of most of the ingredients, so I improvised. Even with my failure to have the right ingredients, it was very good. I added garlic with the onions which I cooked before adding the flour. I didn't have sour cream, so I used half milk and half cream cheese. The cream cheese made it divine. Even with all my substitutions it was very good and as soon as I make it with butter and some cheddar, I'm sure it will be fantastic. I do have to recommend adding garlic and cream cheese for a little extra flavor. The melted butter (or oil) over the topping makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Okay, I have a confession. I've been making this casserole for at least 4 years and I still haven't left a review. So, as I am compiling my grocery list to make this for TWO potlucks this week, I felt like it was time. This is my FAVORITE green bean casserole. I have never been a fan of cream of mushroom soup so this was always on the bottom of the list to make or eat during the holidays. Now, I make it ALL the time! After 4 years, I've tweaked the recipe just a bit to my liking but the base recipe is still delicious! I saute the onion for 3-5 minutes and toss in some fresh minced garlic for the last 30 seconds or so before I make the roux. I mix about 2/3 of the cheese in with the green beans mixture. After topping with the rest of the cheese and the cracker mixture, I add some crispy fried shallots. There are NEVER leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Tasted really good, but lacked in presentation - everyone thought this was some kind of dessert dish so passed it by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My family loves this recipe, we followed momma_s recommendations of Reducing sour cream to 3/4c, reduce salt to 1/2 tsp, add fresh cracked black pepper, and 1&1/2 tsp garlic powder with the salt & sugar. Large can of French fried onions and mix 1/4-1/2 can into beans, the rest crush with the cracker topping and extra melted butter. Mixed ahead of time until ready to go into the oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I was not overwhelmed by this recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I tried this off of the reviews alone and have to say it was definitely not what I had in mind. I guess I'll stick to the cream of mushroom soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States