Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years now, it is the best green bean casserole I have tried. Everyone just loves this and every time I serve this to someone they always rave about it and ask for the recipe. I did not change one thing with this recipe. I was a little hesitant about using canned beans but they work just great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is yummy! Iv also used fresh asparagus...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is a Holiday tradition, with a few minor changes. Always use fresh vericort beans, steamed and sautee the onions a bit! We also substitute French's fried onions for the cracker topping. Much better then canned beans with mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I really liked it! I used a gluten free flour blend,skipped the crackers,and added a Tbsp. of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The absolute tastiest green bean casserole we've ever had! I have been making this for our large, extended family's Thanksgiving meal for 3 years. It's always a must-have dish. My family doesn't like the mushroom-style casserole but absolutely loves this one!! The only tweak that I make is to add a handful of crushed french fried onions to the cracker mixture. It adds just a little extra flavor! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have been serving this recipe every holiday for the past seven years. This is one of the most requested meals every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I followed this with the exception of cooking the onions in the butter first and mixing half the cheese into the bean mixture. Turned out great but maybe just a little soupy (for my taste - family loved it). Next time, I think, I would either halve the sour cream or add an extra can of green beans. I loved the cracker topping also but might try sprinkling on a few french fried onions in addition to it as a nod to the green bean casserole traditionalists in my family. Definitely try this. I loved finding a good recipe that didn't call for cream of mushroom soup. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this last year, and everyone loved it! Will be making again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great alternative to the cream of mushroom soup which I avoid due to the sodium content. The only revision I made to the recipe is that I sautéed the onions first. I also used a sharp cheddar cheese. The cracker toping was good and I used Ritz crackers. A crowd pleaser and an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamelaR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElyseTwichell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States