Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The BEST BEST BEST green bean casserole!!! This is our favorite side for any occasion. I have to double this every time & still have no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I think it's probably a great dish but the real "Green Bean Casserole" is a perfect, not too rich dish that goes so well with Thanksgiving dinner, why try to improve on perfection? Call this one: Cheesy, Buttery,Green Beans Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We had made this recipe in special occasion for the past few year, no leftovers ever, I am not crazy about green beans, unless is this recipe. Love it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
GOOD EATS!!! No more Cream of Mushroom soup!! After reading previous reviewers comments, I too sautéed the onions in the butter (actually Country Crock). Added the flour till smooth, the sour cream and 1tsp.salt, pepper and the sugar. Tasted for seasoning..a bit "one note" so added one tsp. garlic powder, several dashes of paprika..and yes a few dashes of soy sauce. Re-tasted..much more savory with more depth of flavor. Added the steamed green beans (Birds Eye "steamers"..2 bags microwaved in bag for 6 minutes first). Mixed all together with about 1/2 cup of cheddar, along with french's fried onions. Baked 15 minutes then topped with fried onions mixed with 1/2 cup of cheddar and finished the last 15 minutes of baking, I had noticed in the pictures that many of the tops looked a bit too brown, adding the topping the last 15 minutes of baking made a golden brown crunchy topping. Yum..perfecto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years now, it is the best green bean casserole I have tried. Everyone just loves this and every time I serve this to someone they always rave about it and ask for the recipe. I did not change one thing with this recipe. I was a little hesitant about using canned beans but they work just great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is yummy! Iv also used fresh asparagus...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is a Holiday tradition, with a few minor changes. Always use fresh vericort beans, steamed and sautee the onions a bit! We also substitute French's fried onions for the cracker topping. Much better then canned beans with mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I really liked it! I used a gluten free flour blend,skipped the crackers,and added a Tbsp. of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The absolute tastiest green bean casserole we've ever had! I have been making this for our large, extended family's Thanksgiving meal for 3 years. It's always a must-have dish. My family doesn't like the mushroom-style casserole but absolutely loves this one!! The only tweak that I make is to add a handful of crushed french fried onions to the cracker mixture. It adds just a little extra flavor! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have been serving this recipe every holiday for the past seven years. This is one of the most requested meals every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States