Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing! I followed advice of others to sauté onions first and also mixed in 1 c of cheese with the bean mixture. I also used a little extra cheese and crackers on top because I have some major cheese heads to please. Even without tinkering, this is the only GB casserole recipe I'll ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this as it called for, nice flavor, it was super simple and easy, however I sautéed the onions with the butter as I noticed others suggested, I will defiantly make this again but will cut back on the flour and sour cream as others suggested. Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goconnor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
tasted too much like sour cream for me, even though i only used 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Based on the ingredients I really thought that I would have liked this. I ate a few green beans before putting them in the pan and they were good, but the cheese on top just ruined the whole thing. It could be that my taste buds are just off from all the other food I ate durning that meal, but I did not like it, nor did the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Something different and we liked it. I wasn't quite prepared for how sour it turned out, but after a few bites, it became much better. I had to use more crackers though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I deleted the white sugar, used fresh blanched haricots verts and topped it with French's Onions instead of Ritz crackers. I also sauteed the onions before adding the flour. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is amazing!! it did not last long. I did make some changes though, first off I used fresh steamed green beans and then I sauted the onions in a small skillet with oil before I put them in the big skillet and I also didn't put crackers on top because of allergy's but I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I wish I had cut the salt in half, and skipped the crackers, just added the fried onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this today for Thanksgiving. I'm bad for trying new recipes for a crowd rather than trying them at home in private first. I trusted the reviews and gave it a try. This was really, really good, and I got many compliments. I doubled the recipe, and there was very little left over. My only complaint is that it was too salty...still delicious, but definitely too salty. I doubt eliminating a tsp of salt will make a difference, so it must be the cheese. I'm not sure if reducing that will make a difference, but I will give it a try next time...and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was an excellent alternative to the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom. It's savory, creamy and delicious. I took the advise of others and steamed some fresh green beans & then followed the directions. This is a great recipe that the family loved. It will be added to the traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States