Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bogner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love this recipe!! I have always hated green bean casseroles, so when a friend of mine made this I was amazed!! I asked what he put in it (because I cannot stand cream soups of any kind and I could tell he didn't not use any). He told me about this recipe (except we both leave out the sour cream) and I have been making it ever since. Of course I make this for all my work functions, so everyone knows what they are missing by just opening a can. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved it. I didn't want a canned soup version and I am CDN so we are not been casserole people for whatever reason. I wanted to try it though since I had eaten it once and loved it. I just wanted to cut out soe of the processed stuff. So this was perfect. I used light sour cream, light sharp cheddar...bread crumbs in place of buttery crackers. I did add bacon because you need your protein! haha. I also sauteed the onions first as others mentioned and added garlic because those 2 go hand in hand always....it was amazing. Yes I tweaked it but the base is there and it's the first time I ever made it. Definitely going to introduce this to the Thanksgiving line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is my all time favorite Green Bean Casserole. It is so simple to make and delicious. I've made this recipe for years. I add a little garlic and saute with the onions and its scrumptious. My family always request this for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
so much better than the normal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I am sooo glad to find a GOOD recipe for this casserole WITHOUT the canned soup! I prepared this recipe as written with only one change. I used seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Yum Yum! This one is a keeper! Edit: I tried it again with 2 changes seasoning salt and instead of crackers, I gotta have the fried onions! That was all that it needed! Yum! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Kids devoured this after my daughter complained wanted the normal dish made with French onion rings. Now she requests this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is definitely not the traditional green bean casserole, but was ok. I think I will keep searching for the perfect recipe that doesnt use cream of mushroom soup, but this one isnt it. We didnt really like the tang that the sour cream added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Best GBC ever and I usually hate the dish but I crave this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! but not low calorie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States