Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good. Will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is exactly the same recipe that I have been making for years and my kids always ask for it. Only two differences: We call it "Gran's Green Bean Casserole" and instead of crumbled crackers we use Special K cereal. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving because I don't like the kind with mushroom soup but was asked to bring green bean casserole. Followed others' suggestions to sauté onions and lightly steam fresh green beans first. Also added 3 turns of cracked pepper and 3/4 tsp garlic. The only change I would make next time would be to add more green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My family and guests loved this dish! I did follow the advice of others and saute the onions, reduce the sour cream to 3/4 cup, and reduce the cheese to 1 1/2 cup. Also, mixing 1/2 the cheese in with the green beans did seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole with canned french fried onions and canned soup. I tried it almost exactly as written, except I used frozen green bea. I think that using frozen or fresh green beans also improves the flavor over canned. Actually, I made one more substitution, based on what I had on hand: I used bread crumbs coated with butter instead of the crackers. I was surprised that even the small amount of sugar in the recipe added a hint of sweetness that was both subtle and interesting. As others have mentioned, the result is a bit thick, so I added a little of the water in which the green beans had been steamed to thin the white sauce (since it is made with sour cream rather than milk, the dominant flavor is still that of white sauce made with milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
YUM! I brought this side dish to my daughter's first Thanksgiving dinner in her new home. It came out so much better than using condensed soup for the sauce! I did saute the onions in the butter before adding the flour, and added a little pepper for my own taste. Everyone enjoyed the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We had this dish for Thanksgiving dinner this evening. It was excellent! I used fresh green beans and used French fried onion rings instead of the crackers. Thank you, Amy and your grandma too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is much better than the mushroom soup recipe. I've made it twice and both times were asked for the recipe. I do prefer it with 1 cup of cheese mixed in with the beans and 1 cup on top. I also cook the onions in butter before adding it. For a smaller family it also works with just 2 cans of French style green beans, instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made it for Thanksgiving this year. The whole family absolutely loved it! I especially love that it is not made with condensed cream of anything soup! It is delicious. I topped it off with french fried onions, because that's what I had on hand, but no doubt it's just as great with any topping. (Also, halved the salt and flour like others suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I checked some other reviews and used 3/4 cup sour cream and added some pepper. I also added water chestnuts upon request. I only used about 1 1/4 cups cheese and mixed some in the dish. Went over very well at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States