Grandma's Graham Cracker Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is my fondest childhood food memory. My grandmother made it, and I loved it. This is just like hers. Not too sweet. Although I made it as the recipe says, I will modify that next time. I will make less graham cracker crust, and I will add 1 Tab of flour to the corn starch. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this while in a rush which was not a good idea. Didn't cook the pudding for quite long enough on the stove so it was pretty goopy but tasted very good. The graham crust was delicious - I plan on using it with other fillings. The topping turned out rubbery for me but again I was rushing and may not have beaten the egg whites long enough. Next time I would skip that and just put the remaining crumbs directly on top of the pudding. The flavour was subtle and sweet - good desert for a heave meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
It turned out very good. I really like the middle layer. It is nice and gooey. It did take a while to make, but the result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Like other reviewers, it took me about 20 minutes for the pudding to thicken. It was not worth the effort. Their was no real flavor other than a little sweetness and I think the graham cracker topping is what kept the meringue from being stiff and turning out chewy. It was so bland no one finished desert; not even the 5 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We thought this was horrible. Something about the egg whites made the topping rubbery. My first negative recipe experience at allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This pudding was a huge success at a gathering at my house. Some asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I had to cook the sauce 20-25 min.for it to get thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone couldn't get enough!! I had to cook the pudding on the stovetop for a lot longer than the 12 mins. It took about 20, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This recipe was alright. Wasn't something to WOW about . . . but good. It is best served at room temperature. My husband and I ate it while it was still hot and it was WWWAAAYYY to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was one of the best recipies that I ever tasted! All my relatives gave a very good compliment to this recipe. It was rich and crunchy and plain brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
A friend's mother used to make this years ago but wouldn't share the recipe. I have looked since then for the recipe and never found one exactly like it until now! This is it and it is wonderful! The first time I made it I didn't let the pudding thicken enough but it still tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States