Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I made these cookies at the same time I made a batch from a gourmet magazine. The gourmet recipe took twice as long and tasted very similar. I did use 1/4 tsp cardamom. In the future I might roll the cookies in raw sugar and I might add crystallized ginger (the other recipe called for this, and I enjoyed it; my boyfriend did not). Altogether an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've had to drastically increase the amount of ginger in a lot of recipes I've used in the past, but here the amount is perfect. I didn't have any molasses, so I just subbed honey instead, and I used half brown sugar and half white. My Dad is in his 60s and he likes to hark back to the days of truly 'gingery' biscuits and cakes, so it's a great compliment when he liked these biscuits, saying they matched up to his memories. The first time I baked these I cooked them as recommended, but after the first day they went a lot softer. Dad likes these to be crunchy so he can dunk them in tea. So I did cook these for a few minutes more the second time round - they're better the original way to be eaten on their own IMO, but my dad adores them crunchy with tea and is gladly chomping his way through the second batch at the moment. The second time I accidentally used half a tablespoon of cinnamon instead of a teaspoon. Still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Delicious. My mom had bought some store bought ones from the bakery and these ones actually turned out better than hers. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I love, love, loved them the first time I made them. So much that I gave some to the neighbors to show off. The second time I made them, I decreased the size of the cookie and they were more gingersnappy than before - as they tend to be pretty soft. My modifications: I added tiny bits of sliced candied ginger to the top for an extra zing. Also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are one of my classic cookie recipes. So soft and chewy. My friends and family love them! My only changes to the recipe include using butter instead of the margarine and blackstrap molasses (the really dark stuff). I've tried making them with whole wheat pastry flour, but the cookies were not as soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good, but not very snappy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crane, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice, chewy cookie with the perfect amount of spice. Holds up well on holiday trays, keeps well and freezes great, both in dough and baked form. I rolled mine in turbinado sugar... they were beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These cookies were excellent. I baked them for 10 minutes as we liked them a bit more crispy around the edge. They stayed soft for days. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shweetpotato
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious , hubby LOVES them :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shweetpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by MelissaRenner
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe matches my Great-Grandmothers' recipe exatcly! 8 minutes is the trick, pull the cookie sheet out when they don't look quite done... and they'll be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States