Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Mine turned out exactly like the picture and are currently enjoying pride of place on my cake stand! I did make a few minor changes, but I'm sure the recipe would be just as good without them, as it was mostly personal taste that prompted the modifications rather than any fault in the recipe itself... I used (unsalted) butter instead of margarine and added just a pinch of black pepper and allspice. I also added some ground ginger to the decorating sugar, as I didn't find the dough quite "gingery" enough for my liking. I've had nothing but compliments on these, the first one being "best ginger snaps ever!" Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SterlingJosephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These are probably the prettiest cookies I have ever made. Also they were extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Gingersnaps are my boyfriends favorite Christmas cookie, he looked forwards to his grandma's every year! When he asked me to make some to add to our cookies this year I was nervous (wanted mine to me just as good) I looked and looked, found this one is it's SUPER YUMMY! He told me mine are better then his Grandma's!!! They were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These turned out fantastic! They were the last on my list and I baked them just minutes before my christmas work party. I actually had people begging to take the remainder home. I'm showing up at work tomorrow with another batch & the recipe card! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Even people who didn't like gingersnaps liked these cookies. Recipe Modifications: - I used butter instead of margarine - I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg Prep Modifications: - I chilled the dough for a few minutes, rolled it about 1/4" thick, then used a cookie cutter. - I cooked for 6-7 minutes They were beautifully crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. You do have to watch them to make sure they're not too crunchy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Added a 1/4 cup more butter and they came out soooooo good! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made these using Better Batter Gluten Free Flour, and egg substitute, and feared for the worst. Man was I surprised! They are delicious! You can't even tell they are gluten and egg-free! Everyone just gobbled them up! I actually used some of them crumbled up to make a pie crust for pumpkin pie. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made these a lot and they always taste so good!! This is my go to recipe if I need a fast and great cookie for a party or just a good snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best gingersnaps I ever tasted! I made them today, with no changes except that I used Canola Oil instead of oleo. Used my 1" melon baller to scoop, rolled them in white sugar and baked them 8 minutes at 375 degrees, a little above the center of the oven. As directed, I let them sit in the pans for 5 minutes before removing them to racks to cool. There were a few that were a little smaller, and they turned out crispy, but still fairly soft in the centers. The larger ones were soft & chewy, with some crispiness around the edges. No matter how they turned out, they were extremely good! The dough was quite soft and I debated using a bit more flour, but since it was my first time making them I decided to go as specified this time. It turned out to be very easy to handle, not sticky, came right out of the melon baller. The cookies didn't hold the shape, but melted down to thin, round cookies...just what I wanted. NOTE: I just realized I set my oven at 375 instead of 350, but I think it runs a little lower than it shows, so probably was closer to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States