Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We love Ginger Snaps, and these are the best recipe I've found. My son says they are little meteorites from the planet Yum. And they are! I doubled the batch, which worked perfectly. I did add a tablespoon of VERY finely chopped crystalized ginger. I weighed the dough to get evenly-sized cookies... 18 grams is perfect. Baked in the covection oven at 325 degrees. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Amazing!! Best Gingersnaps I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent ginger snap cookie. They are soft though, not a hard crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
THE BEST!!! I did use butter, of course, and did add the cardamom. I had doubled the recipe, and instead of adding 2 cups of butter, I had used 1- 1/2 cups butter and 1/2 cup crisco. Exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I thought the flavor of this cookie was delicious. And I did enjoy the crispy edges of the cookie. However, the dough was very sticky and difficult to roll into balls. I also prefer a thicker, puffier cookie. I believe with a few adjustments this recipe would be more along the lines of what I enjoy in a gingersnap. I probably won't make this recipe again - though they were tasty - I prefer thicker cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! I added a teaspoon of cardamon to the recipe as I'd seen in the comments and I baked them nearly twice as long as the directions suggests to have a crunchier cookie and still a somewhat chewy middle. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
So easy to make and so good! The only addition I did is add a little cracked pepper. 1/2 tsp or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yum! I made these with gluten free flour and they were delicious. I didn't have molasses, and they would be better with it, but still good. Added extra spices but no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
these are the most amazing gingersnaps, everyone that has them loves them, I have even changed a few minds of people who say they don't like ginger cookies, it truly is the best one out there, and I have tried a lot of them. it was given to me by a friends mom, Thank you for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I've been making these for several years now, and LOVE them. A couple of notes... I find that the texture of the dough is better for dropping if I let it rest for at least half an hour first. Also, I've found that these come out just right (flat, but not too flat, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside) when I make them in coastal Maryland, but they are way too flat and it is difficult to achieve a good level of doneness when I make them in upstate South Carolina. Maybe elevation or humidity accounts for the complaints of "flat" cookies that seem to be common here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States