Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Worst recipe ever!! Dough was like goo! Kept adding more and more and more flour. Still not able to roll into balls. Have placed dough I the refrigerator as a last resort. Can't even imagine these turning out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shayla Smith
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made exactly as directed, using my KitchenAid to mix and air bake cookie pans. Baked in convection at 350*F for 10 minutes. Perfect. Not too crunchy, not too chewy--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I followed this recipe to a "T" and the resulting mixture was ANYTHING but a dough. It was terribly sticky and I could not roll it into balls. Sorry I wasted my ingredients on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted Mattos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great recipe! It's super simple and everyone who's sampled the batches I've made has loved them. The 8 minute bake time makes for a nice soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johanna
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Flavor was there, but they didn't "look" like gingersnaps.. they were very anemic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a cookie recipe with extra ginger. It certainly isn't a Ginger SNAP recipe. Guess I'll just have to keep looking. I use allrecipes.com all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Very tasty cookie! I used salted butter instead of margarine and I didnt add the salt it called for. I also added about a tsp of cloves. The dough was way too loose to roll. I spooned it out and sprinkled the sugar on. It worked. They are really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I had to make them for our bowling team, so I doubled the recipe. I didn't have molasses, so I used Log Cabin syrup. Had to add a little flour to make dough hold together, and followed the recipe otherwise.I rolled them in brown sugar before baking. I'm calling them Ginger-Doodles because they came out wonderfully chewy with just a hint of crispy outside. They are delicious and I'll make them the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hfoster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Best gingersnap recipe! I used butter instead of margarine and these came out exactly like a gingersnap should- crisp around the edges and a little chewy in the middle. And spicy! Loved them and so did everyone else I made them for! They went great with the pumpkin dip I made too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
For some reason, my cookies turned out terrible. Like, REALLY nasty. There seemed to be way too much butter. Maybe I didn't follow the recipe right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States