Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Although it was a little messy rolling into the balls, once I rolled them in sugar, it helped. Hubby loved them. In fact it's a very good thing I opted to stick with the "makes 36" ingredients, as they're nearly half gone in 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The cookies tasted really good! I reduced the white sugar by half and increased the baking time to 21 minutes. I also used butter instead of margarine and increased the ginger by 50%. You have to bake them for a lot of extra time if you want them to actually snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe but I used butter, soft whole wheat flour, organic molasses and organic raw sugar in place of the margarine, all purpose flour, molasses and white sugar. The cookies were delicious! I even used some of the batter to make gingerbread men for my kids!! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I love this recipe. I have used it for 2 years and at the holidays it is requested often!! I do double the cinnamon occasionally but other than that, no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
These are the all around favorite at my house and at work. Three helpful hints:1.Cooking in a gas oven takes considerable adjustment, I had to add flour when I used gas to get the consistency right. 2.I only use Brer Rabbit molasses as it is thicker than the other brand common in my area, and the thinner molasses makes the cookies flatten out too much. 3.The recipe is written for margarine and doesn't turn out well if you substitute butter. The cookies turn out chewy rather than soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made them exactly as the recipe called and they are perfect. chewy inside with a very thin, slightly crusty outside. I used earth balance vegan buttery spread and baked them on parchment paper. They turned out just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These were delicious, and got raves everywhere I've brought them. I used sweet cream butter instead of margarine, a heaping half tsp salt, and vanilla sugar in place of regular white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Added 1/4 teaspoon allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
For a bit sharper taste, grind candied ginger (in a small blender jar) to heighten the ginger spice, sprinkel in a bit of cayenne, as well. I used white whole wheat flour in place of enriched white flour. For a more chrisp cookie, roll the dough into a log, wrap, refrigerate for 2-3 hours or overnight, and slice thin. These cookies can quickly overbake. 8 minutes is just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States