Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This gingersnap recipe is a DELIGHT! I have been looking a long time for the perfect gingersnap, and this is the one! I did make a few changes: I added 2 tablespoons of flour, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, and 1 teaspoon of allspice. Also, I always use real butter in my baking, instead of margarine. I chilled the dough overnight, but I don't think it was necessary. Don't skip the rolling of the cookie dough in sugar, it provides a nice coating that keeps the cookie looking beautiful. Thank you, Ruth Ann! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Excellent cookies! Very easy to make. My batch only made 24 cookies, if you like them big like me it won't make as many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I used butter instead of margarine but this turned out to be the best gingersnap cookie I've ever had (even better than the gingersnaps at the bakery I work at!) Thanks RuthAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
These turned out great! I brought them into work and got rave reviews. I'm going to use them for my pumpkin ice cream pie crust this year. This was the first time I'd made gingersnaps, so the gooiness of the batter was a little hard to get used to, but the cookies were well worth the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
not quite what i expected but really good all the same. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
The best gingersnap I have ever tasted!! Crispy but melts in your mouth, and beautiful to look at-- the top cracks perfectly in the last few minutes of baking and the sugar gives it a crystalized shine. These cookies spread a lot when baked, so space them wide on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These were totally awesome. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Of all the cookies I made this holiday, these by far turned out the best. I couldn't keep them around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great recipe! Quick and easy to make with good tasting cookies. They spead a lot when cooking so space more than 2 inches apart on sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Holy cow these are delicious!! I'm a DISASTER in the kitchen, so if I can make these taste good anybody can! I like my ginger cookies with an extra bite so I added another tablespoon of ginger and threw in some allspice as suggested by fellow reviewers. I'm not sure how much of a 'snap' these have as they were a little cake-y in the middle, but that's how I like them. If you want them more crispy I'd make the dough balls slightly smaller and bake the full ten minutes...and they DO spread, so six per sheet is all that will fit. The taste is delightful and would be perfect with a cup of tea. Absolutely yummy! Get yourself in the kitchen and make these now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States