Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Add cardamom! It will take your gingersnaps to a whole new level, I promise! 1/4 tsp per batch (or more if you're brave). Cardamom is somewhat peppery, and is the perfect addition to any gingerbread/snap/cookie recipe. I used margarine and butter because we like our cookies chewy. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Excellent cookie! Comes out thin and crispy on the outside, chewy in the middle. Baked them for exactly 8 min and they came out perfect. Be sure to follow the directions and leave them on the cookie sheet for 5 min before transferring to a rack (or else they will fall apart!). And they spread out A LOT, so don't make them too big! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This gingersnap recipe is a DELIGHT! I have been looking a long time for the perfect gingersnap, and this is the one! I did make a few changes: I added 2 tablespoons of flour, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, and 1 teaspoon of allspice. Also, I always use real butter in my baking, instead of margarine. I chilled the dough overnight, but I don't think it was necessary. Don't skip the rolling of the cookie dough in sugar, it provides a nice coating that keeps the cookie looking beautiful. Thank you, Ruth Ann! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
this is a ginger cookie that even people who don't like gingersnaps love. I have had marriage proposals (co-workers), offers to clean my house and just down right begging for these. If that doesn't get 5 stars then nothing does
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Very yummy! I followed the reciped exactly. I baked them for 12 minutes and they turned out perfect. The right amount of chewiness (for me anyway!) The only thing was I found the yeild was closer to 2 dozen than 3 dozen. They are so good, next time I'll double the recipe.....they won't last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these for our family Christmas Cookie Day this year, and found a new favorite! My only substitution was butter for the margarine, and they still came out beautifully--thin and crispy! This is a wonderful recipe that will be added to my list of regulars. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
These were delicious. I added 1/4 tsp cardamom and extra cinnamon. Also I ran out of molasses, so it ended up being 1/8 molasses and 1/8 honey. I think it was better that way though. Eat them warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I followed this recipe almost exactly, except I used margarine and instead of sugar, half Splenda and half brown sugar Splenda. These turned out great! I rolled them a little bigger than 1 inch and baked them for 10 minutes. Nice and soft, and just the right amount of ginger. I also used Black Strap molasses... it really is better than any other kind. Thank you for this recipe, I will definitely be adding this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Lovely cookies, but just narrowly miss a 5 star because they're far more delicate than a true ginger snap. To those who are wondering what went wrong when the cookies come out as flat discs, the answer is absolutely nothing! Ginger snaps are supposed to be flat and very crisp. If you are looking for a puffy, soft ginger cookie recipe, I can heartily recommend "Big Soft Ginger Cookies" from this site. Even though I upped the baking time to 12 minutes, the edges were properly crispy, but the centers still remained chewy. The dough is extremely soft. I chilled it overnight, but it was still too soft to roll into balls by hand. So I scooped them out with two spoons, and rolled them around in the sugar. They spread out a lot while baking, so allow ample room on your baking sheet. Excellent, tasty cookies, just not crispy enough to be called gingersnaps. Edited to add: By evening, all had lost any crispiness and become chewy, which underscores the appropriateness of the 4 star rating. Again, delicious cookie, just not a true gingersnap, without any "snap." Edited to add: I discovered how to make them properly crisp. Use vegetable shortening in place of the margarine, bake for 12 minutes and you'll have actual "snaps." Also, in order to get that proper warmth that we associate with gingersnaps, add a few shakes of cayenne or white pepper. Perfect then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Mumma
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
These gingersnaps rock! If you're debating on which recipe to choose; this is the one. I followed this recipe almost exactly except instead of rolling the dough in cinnamon sugar, I chose to use sanding sugar. It gives the cookie a bit more texture and it looks really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States