Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
these are the most amazing gingersnaps, everyone that has them loves them, I have even changed a few minds of people who say they don't like ginger cookies, it truly is the best one out there, and I have tried a lot of them. it was given to me by a friends mom, Thank you for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I've been making these for several years now, and LOVE them. A couple of notes... I find that the texture of the dough is better for dropping if I let it rest for at least half an hour first. Also, I've found that these come out just right (flat, but not too flat, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside) when I make them in coastal Maryland, but they are way too flat and it is difficult to achieve a good level of doneness when I make them in upstate South Carolina. Maybe elevation or humidity accounts for the complaints of "flat" cookies that seem to be common here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Grandma's gingersnaps lack the snap..cookie really spreads during baking and is soft, chewy and lacks snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattididit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LundJohnson
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This recipe will make me famous. :) Seriously, this is better than my grandma's recipe or my mom's. I made these this past Christmas and they were great. Then I made them again today and instead of margarine and I think butter flattens a cookie to much, I used butter flavored shortening (the major brand). I changed the serving to 144 and also added a teaspoon of cardamom (as someone here suggested) and leaned a little heavy on the ginger and cinnamon. These cookies are the best! Thanks for a great recipe RAMB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I subtituted unsalted butter for the margerine and added a tsp of cardamom. they tasted very buttery, so much that any other flavors were overwhelmed. They looked beautiful, and my husband who doesn't like the gingery ness of ginger snaps liked them a lot. Maybe my butter substitution ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
So yummy! I followed the recipe to the letter (cooking them for 8 minutes worked perfectly), and the turned out wonderfully. I don't even like ginger snap cookies (I made them for my fiance), and I've been eating them non-stop... I'm going to have to get him to hide the cookie jar... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
very good. I've tried this several times. I substitute one stick of butter for the 3/4 margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These gingersnaps are AMAZING! My father said he didn't like gingersnaps...until he had one of these! I used real butter instead of margarine and they came out beautifully. I do recommend being very generous with the size of your dough-balls. Some of my smaller ones came out a little too crispy for my taste. If you want good-sized soft gingersnaps, go big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Have tried gingersnap after gingersnap recipe over the years. Finally, I've found THE ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States