Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is dynamite!! I have tried the true recipe, then some little changes. Change 1 - I used vegetable oil and butter to make the 3/4 of a cup. Awesome. Change 2 - I used brown and white sugar to make the one cup. Awesomer! Change 3 - I use minced garlic that you can find in the asian cooking section of your local grocer. It gives it a nicer sharper ginger taste. Change 4 - I always add in some flavouring syrup (gingerbread or cinnamon brown sugar) to the dough before rolling.in the sugar. Gives it just another little flavour profile. I love these cookies, and have added them to my holiday recipes!! Thanks for the recipe!! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I had the same difficulty as some others, where the dough wasn't the right consistency for rolling so I made drop cookies instead. I'm curious if the white sugar is supposed to be confectioner's sugar? I assumed it meant granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We love Ginger Snaps, and these are the best recipe I've found. My son says they are little meteorites from the planet Yum. And they are! I doubled the batch, which worked perfectly. I did add a tablespoon of VERY finely chopped crystalized ginger. I weighed the dough to get evenly-sized cookies... 18 grams is perfect. Baked in the covection oven at 325 degrees. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Amazing!! Best Gingersnaps I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent ginger snap cookie. They are soft though, not a hard crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
THE BEST!!! I did use butter, of course, and did add the cardamom. I had doubled the recipe, and instead of adding 2 cups of butter, I had used 1- 1/2 cups butter and 1/2 cup crisco. Exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I thought the flavor of this cookie was delicious. And I did enjoy the crispy edges of the cookie. However, the dough was very sticky and difficult to roll into balls. I also prefer a thicker, puffier cookie. I believe with a few adjustments this recipe would be more along the lines of what I enjoy in a gingersnap. I probably won't make this recipe again - though they were tasty - I prefer thicker cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! I added a teaspoon of cardamon to the recipe as I'd seen in the comments and I baked them nearly twice as long as the directions suggests to have a crunchier cookie and still a somewhat chewy middle. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
So easy to make and so good! The only addition I did is add a little cracked pepper. 1/2 tsp or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yum! I made these with gluten free flour and they were delicious. I didn't have molasses, and they would be better with it, but still good. Added extra spices but no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States